Mom's Mandelbrot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I leave out the almonds because I don't care for them. I also sprinkle cinnamon sugar on one of the loaves before cutting and baking longer. I split the baking time in half flipping the pieces after 5 minutes. A few did break but who minds a broken cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I substituted half all purpose and half whole wheat. Only use 3/4 of the amount for the whole wheat. In the recipe for 36 that would be 1.5 cups all purpose and 1 1/8 cups whole wheat. Everyone loved this. I also ruled in cinnamon/sugar mixture after slicing to back second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Bogen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a good recipe but seemed like it was missing something. I made it a second time and sprinkled a generous amount of cinnamon-sugar mixture along the top before baking. Yep! It was missing cinnamon! The dough is very sticky so you kind of have to slap it on the pan and can't really shape it. Don't worry, once it's baked, you can't tell it looked like that at one point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
By far the easiest alternative to biscotti recipe but I wish I had chopped sliced almond instead of coarsely chopping whole almonds because the nuts and chocolate chips made it hard to form the loaf. Overall a nice addition to my hot coffee and tea drinks in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Excellent recipe. Easy to make and follow. The first time I made these I kept to the recipe. Now (a year later) I use 1 cup almond, 1/2 cup 73% bittersweet chocolate. The almonds get chopped in a Bullet so I get a mix of almond dust, and chunks that help reduce the stickiness. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Numina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very good mandelbrot! I was glad that this recipe did not have a crumbly consistency, like many of the other mandelbrot and biscotti recipes I have tried. I will make this again, soon :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were very good. To add a nice touch and some more flavor: In the top of a double boiler, melt 12oz chocolate chips with 2 tablespoons shortening, stirring frequently. Dip half of each biscotti stick in chocolate and then let cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Krazy KK~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I found that I needed to add more flour since the batter seemed a bit runny (from all the oil). Other than that, they were great. Like biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Not at all what I expected. It had a weird texture, not crunchy like biscotti. I even let it cool and rebaked it, thinking that it might make it crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States