Mom's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
AWESOME!! I had a potluck at work today and made this salad for the 1st time..needless to say they LOVED it. I could have made more! My hubby finsihed it off tonight and said it was the best macaroni salad he has ever eaten! SUPER!! I doubled the mustard and garlic powders (cuz I like them)used 1/3 Cup of Splenda in place of the white sugar. Made it "friendlier" for my WW friends and it was still AWESOME! :O) Thank you for such a super recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
We really enjoyed this. I ended up trying this at the last minute since I had made Kim's Macaroni Salad (on this site) and realized that Kim's would be way to spicy for many, especially children. I ended up serving both salads and they both disappeared - I guess I satisfied tastes of both kinds. I didn't change a thing in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
I have served this salad many times, and always get asked for the recipe. It's a wonderful salad. The only thing I do different is that I substitute Tri Colored Rotini for the macaroni, and if making a 1 # box of Rotini, I triple the marinade portion, while adding appropriate vegetables for the size I am doing. It's worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
YUM! Make this the night before and the next day it tastes even better! I'll for sure keep this recipe for future use!I will try this with those spiral noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Made this recipe for a luau. Got rave reviews. It is definitely a keeper. Did not put the dressing over the macaroni until about an hour before serving, that way the macaroni did not soak up all the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was really fantastic! I added sliced olives and used an English cucumber instead of the 4 called for in the recipe...I made it for a baby shower today and there was NONE left! Everyone said it was very refreshing and tasted great!!!I have a NEW regular for my family now, thanks Rina for sharing this fantastic recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I MADE MACARONI SALAD FOR MY HUSBAND'S 30TH B-DAY IN OCTOBER AND NOW EVERY PARTY I GO TO SOMEONE ASKS ME TO BRING THE MACARONI SALAD. IT IS A GREAT SIDE . MY MOTHER USED THE RECIPE FOR XMAS AND USED SPLENDA BECAUSE MY DAD IS A DIABETIC AND IT TASTS JUST AS GOOD .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I really really liked this salad. I usually like a creamy salad, but couldn't find a recipe I liked, so I settled with this one and was really satisfied with it!! I don't like sweet salads, and reading some of the comments beforehand, decided to use just 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/2. I also used a whole english cucumber instead of the 4 the recipe called for, an entire bunch of green onion instead of 2 regular onions and added about a half of a green pepper as well. It's just delicious, and I will definitely, definitely make it again.............soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Made this for a recent party and tripled the recipe, except I only used about 3/4 C. Sugar total, and adjusted the vegetable amounts. Added sliced black olives, diced red and green peppers, and used Bowtie pasta. It was a huge hit and more than one person asked for the recipe. Everyone loved the fact that it was not made with mayo, but a vinaigrette-style dressing. Thanks for a wonderful salad recipe which I'll be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This has become a family favorite and my daughter will be making this for our Christmas family get together this year. I had to look it up again to print out a copy for her so thought I would leave a review. Thanks to Rina for sharing. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States