Mom's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This salad was a hit both times I made it. The second time I made some chages that I think made it better: I used a pint of grape tomatoes cut in half, 1 red onion, and a green pepper. It gave it a little more color and texture. I also used bow-ties, which made it a little easier to handle, the macaroni is hard when you don't have anything to hold it together, and doubled the ground mustard for extra flavor. Very refreshing and perfect for a summer party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
I have served this salad many times, and always get asked for the recipe. It's a wonderful salad. The only thing I do different is that I substitute Tri Colored Rotini for the macaroni, and if making a 1 # box of Rotini, I triple the marinade portion, while adding appropriate vegetables for the size I am doing. It's worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This was a nice change from the mayo type macaroni salad. I had something similar to it in a restaurant and it was very tasty. I've made it a couple of times and will keep the recipe to make it again. I've also used the vinegarette dressing ingredients by themselves in some other dishes that are variations on the macaroni salad when I didn't have all the exact ingredients for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I really really liked this salad. I usually like a creamy salad, but couldn't find a recipe I liked, so I settled with this one and was really satisfied with it!! I don't like sweet salads, and reading some of the comments beforehand, decided to use just 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/2. I also used a whole english cucumber instead of the 4 the recipe called for, an entire bunch of green onion instead of 2 regular onions and added about a half of a green pepper as well. It's just delicious, and I will definitely, definitely make it again.............soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I MADE MACARONI SALAD FOR MY HUSBAND'S 30TH B-DAY IN OCTOBER AND NOW EVERY PARTY I GO TO SOMEONE ASKS ME TO BRING THE MACARONI SALAD. IT IS A GREAT SIDE . MY MOTHER USED THE RECIPE FOR XMAS AND USED SPLENDA BECAUSE MY DAD IS A DIABETIC AND IT TASTS JUST AS GOOD .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Wow!! I really like this salad. It is lighter and more flavorful than the mayo versions. After reading what some of the other reviews were, I cut the sugar to a half a cup. I also used celery, onions, green pepper and canned diced tomatoes. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This has become a family favorite and my daughter will be making this for our Christmas family get together this year. I had to look it up again to print out a copy for her so thought I would leave a review. Thanks to Rina for sharing. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Made this for a recent party and tripled the recipe, except I only used about 3/4 C. Sugar total, and adjusted the vegetable amounts. Added sliced black olives, diced red and green peppers, and used Bowtie pasta. It was a huge hit and more than one person asked for the recipe. Everyone loved the fact that it was not made with mayo, but a vinaigrette-style dressing. Thanks for a wonderful salad recipe which I'll be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
We really enjoyed this. I ended up trying this at the last minute since I had made Kim's Macaroni Salad (on this site) and realized that Kim's would be way to spicy for many, especially children. I ended up serving both salads and they both disappeared - I guess I satisfied tastes of both kinds. I didn't change a thing in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My daughter made this salad. We used various tomatoes from our yard, english cucumber, and corn sliced from the cob. We also substituted fresh mint for the parsley and used penne because we had it on hand. It was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States