Mom's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
I have served this salad many times, and always get asked for the recipe. It's a wonderful salad. The only thing I do different is that I substitute Tri Colored Rotini for the macaroni, and if making a 1 # box of Rotini, I triple the marinade portion, while adding appropriate vegetables for the size I am doing. It's worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
My family did not enjoy this dish. It left a bad aftertaste. The flavors were not appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This was a nice change from the mayo type macaroni salad. I had something similar to it in a restaurant and it was very tasty. I've made it a couple of times and will keep the recipe to make it again. I've also used the vinegarette dressing ingredients by themselves in some other dishes that are variations on the macaroni salad when I didn't have all the exact ingredients for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This salad was quick and easy to prepare. Even the kids liked it. I added grape tomatoes too and it was a smash hit at the barbeque. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
YUM! Make this the night before and the next day it tastes even better! I'll for sure keep this recipe for future use!I will try this with those spiral noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I'm sorry, I'm a person that likes a variety of different tastes, but this was nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This was really well recieved by a group of people I made if for. One person thought it was a bit too sugary. I made it again with a little less sugar (called for half, used a third) and also added in about 1 cup of shredded carrots. Not bad. Really worth making. Best if you have something that can cut up the cucumbers for you! :) Also, best after sitting overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe turned out very well with the little changes I did. First, I omitted parsley just for preferential reasons, 2nd, I used 1/4 cup plus 1 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar for a different taste. It came out great. I used the vinegarette on some rib eyes we had and they gave a really great flavor. Good all around recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I hate cucumbers[lol], so I made this without them! I used 2 very large Jersey tomatoes and also added a tablespoon of chopped chives and sun-dried tomato flakes. (I also used white wine vinegar) It was AWESOME! A super recipe for tomato lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Not too bad. However, it was a bit too sweet for my taste, but everyone else liked it. I usually like macaroni salads with a creamier dressing. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States