Mom's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Ok, so I made the following changes to accommodate for using one 1lb box of elbow macaroni, (which is 3 c.) but I didn't double all the ingredients. I used 1 stick, or 8 tbsp of butter for the sauce and didn't add any addt'l at the end. I only used 2 c. milk. Melt the butter for the roux very slowly, on low heat and after u add the milk and it comes to a boil, u must keep stirring it. I also didn't have regular velveeta on hand, only the queso blanco, of which I used 8 oz or half the small brick. And I didn't have 2 c. shredded sharp, only a package of the really thin sliced. Just put in the whole package. Also followed another reviewers suggestion and skipped the bread crumbs, bake at 350 for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Rod loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Very good and easy. I usually make it with half Gruyere and half sharp cheddar. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I love this recipe, the only changes I made was to use 2 c. of cheese instead of 1. Also I would use at least 2 c. of macaroni. Also, I added way more of the panko bread crumbs to adequately cover the macaroni. But I just guesstimate the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Easy and wonderful, time after time. This recipe is great as written but I have also jazzed it up with a diced fresh jalapeño pepper and 2 slices of cooked, crumbled bacon in the cheese sauce. I do love Panko for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy B!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My favorite Mac and Cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, served this as a side with our Christmas ham....was universally raved over! Obviously more work that an "out of the package/can" mac & cheese mix but very worth it for those special meals when time isn't a concern. Will be saving this for future use for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Yum, a real hit at our early Thanksgiving dinner! I reiterate the advice of other reviewers: - Use *sharp* cheddar cheese, and double it - Add waaaay more bread crumbs at the end I personally love using fusilli for mac and cheese, so I changed that as well--I think it holds sauce better without getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this in triple batches for our Youth Group. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is yummy! I've made it several times. Can't beat homemade mac 'n cheese! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States