Mom's Little Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This sauce is so good! I love the cinnamon and clove addition. Adds just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
It was okay. Better after many hours of soaking in the sauce. It still carried that ketchup taste. Not sure what I'd do differently. Great in a pinch since most of the ingredients are in your kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I exchanged 5 oz of the ketchup for bbq sauce and added 5 drops of tabasco sauce. I had read that someone thought it was to ketchupy and what I did corrected that. They went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
this is a good basic recipe very similar to the one that i used to make. over the yrs. i made a few adj. i wanted something less tomato flavor. i eyeball the following and sample as i go. i normally start with a base of tomato sauce. i buy the restaurant sz. can and use for so many recipes then i add dry mustard and cayenne sometimes i even make homemade mustard with dry mustard. this produces a very hot mustard the longer that this mixture of water and dry mustard sits on the counter the hotter it gets. love it!! i add other ing. to the mix for my homemade mustard. it is wonderful. i also add Worcestershire sauce, chopped onion and green pepper to the mix. i love making bbq as well as other sauces. they allow you to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlitta Nunley
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious! I was skeptical of the cinnamon and cloves, but they really made the sauce tasty. I doubled all the ingredients except for the ketchup, and it wasn't too ketchupy tasting. My husband (a huge little smokie fan) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I got the courage to go with this recipe with the unusual ingredients of cinnamon and cloves.... glad I did. This is slightly different from your typical BBQ sauce type dish - and certainly not Italian. Rather a tangy/sweet flavor. Since this was an appetizer for a pot luck party - wasn't looking for a meal - rather tidbits with a different flavor. It was a hit........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Many compliments on the little smokies, and it was easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Not bad. Easy, and the flavor is pretty good. We like ketchup, so although the taste was there, it melded well with the rest of the ingredients. I put on the stove on low for about 2 1/2 hours and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
We loved these! I did not have yellow mustard so I added spicy instead and it worked well. 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious, and very easy to make! Used 1 cup of ketchup, and 3/4 a cup of Barbecue Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonyadehart
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States