Mom's Little Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This sauce is so good! I love the cinnamon and clove addition. Adds just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
It was okay. Better after many hours of soaking in the sauce. It still carried that ketchup taste. Not sure what I'd do differently. Great in a pinch since most of the ingredients are in your kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I exchanged 5 oz of the ketchup for bbq sauce and added 5 drops of tabasco sauce. I had read that someone thought it was to ketchupy and what I did corrected that. They went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
this is a good basic recipe very similar to the one that i used to make. over the yrs. i made a few adj. i wanted something less tomato flavor. i eyeball the following and sample as i go. i normally start with a base of tomato sauce. i buy the restaurant sz. can and use for so many recipes then i add dry mustard and cayenne sometimes i even make homemade mustard with dry mustard. this produces a very hot mustard the longer that this mixture of water and dry mustard sits on the counter the hotter it gets. love it!! i add other ing. to the mix for my homemade mustard. it is wonderful. i also add Worcestershire sauce, chopped onion and green pepper to the mix. i love making bbq as well as other sauces. they allow you to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlitta Nunley
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious! I was skeptical of the cinnamon and cloves, but they really made the sauce tasty. I doubled all the ingredients except for the ketchup, and it wasn't too ketchupy tasting. My husband (a huge little smokie fan) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I got the courage to go with this recipe with the unusual ingredients of cinnamon and cloves.... glad I did. This is slightly different from your typical BBQ sauce type dish - and certainly not Italian. Rather a tangy/sweet flavor. Since this was an appetizer for a pot luck party - wasn't looking for a meal - rather tidbits with a different flavor. It was a hit........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Many compliments on the little smokies, and it was easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Not bad. Easy, and the flavor is pretty good. We like ketchup, so although the taste was there, it melded well with the rest of the ingredients. I put on the stove on low for about 2 1/2 hours and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
We loved these! I did not have yellow mustard so I added spicy instead and it worked well. 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious, and very easy to make! Used 1 cup of ketchup, and 3/4 a cup of Barbecue Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonyadehart
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States