Mom's Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I've had cinnamon rolls made with part cake mix before and these do not disappoint. If you've never had any; the texture is pretty light and the flavor is great. There's a good chance you will need more flour as mentioned in directions, because they can be quite sticky. I paired them with the "Simple Orange Glaze" recipe on here. Delicious. Much faster to make than traditional cinnamon rolls too (love that part.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
These were absolutely delicious! - A couple of notes: * 1/2 box of cake mix = 1-1/2 cups * If you are measuring yeast from a jar rather than using packets, you need 5 teaspoons. * I needed to add a total of about 1-1/2 cups of flour prior to rolling out, plus more needed for kneading/rolling. * I prefer brown sugar, so I used that. I also like a lot of cinnamon, so I used 2 teaspoons rather than 1. * I placed these in a jelly roll pan (10" X 16"), 3 across, 6 down for a total of 18. When they baked, they were all puffy and touching so the edges didn't all get brown, which IMHO is what you want with cinnamon rolls. This is replacing my former "go-to" cinnamon roll recipe. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Used brown sugar instead of white, much thicker than what I expected/am used to. I have only made cinnamon buns with biscuit dough before, these are well worth the little extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My cinnamon rolls turned out great even though I made a few mistakes! Making them first thing upon waking was my first mistake! Without reading the directions well and being early and all instead of spreading the softened butter over the dough and then sprinkling the cinn/sugar mixture over, I mixed the butter and cinn and sugar (brown sugar) together in a bowl then tried to spread that across the dough. Obviously the mixture didn't spread well so I made more and sprinkled that on. Long story short, after baking about 20 mins they turned out like sticky buns because the filling had oozed out into my 9x13 pan. That didn't stop me from pouring on homemade icing though! Overall, they were wonderful! The dough had a subtle cake flavor and was light. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe as written except I made it in my kitchen aid. Really easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These were outstanding!! I had only white cake mix in pantry so used in place of yellow cake. Otherwise followed recipe exactly and they were a huge hit. I mixed all w/ dough hook in bowl of Kitchenaid mixer and then kneaded only a few times to get right consistency. It took a little longer than recipe stated to rise after cut into slices. Iced w/ powered sugar/butter/milk/vanilla icing. Yummmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe, and I was so amazed at the taste and texture of the cinnamon rolls. My family couldn't get enough. The recipe is easy to follow and very convenient. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe was super easy! I agree with the extra flour and the use of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
These were awesome! They were a lot better than I expected and so easy to make. I made them this morning for my family and they just couldn't stop eating them. The only thing that went a little wrong-but didn't affect anything-was that when I rolled it into a log, it started to flatten so I had to squish them back into a circle. This wasn't much trouble. I will definitely be making these again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
super easy to make, soft & fluffy & delicous - why on earth would anyone buy dough in a can if you could create this in 15 minutes of waiting for the dough to rise? 100 times better than canned dough. I used a Jiffy yellow cake mix because it's already only 1/2 a cake mix in size. I think that is why they are called Jiffy in the name. Thanks so much for sharing it. I am looking forward to making them many many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States