Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. Great flavor. Freezes beautifully. Just than and reheat in microwave (small portions) or slow cooker (large portions). Use this recipe for freezer meals for elderly parents. Added a splash of leftover wine, chopped celery and carrots, Italitan seasoning and gralic poweder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Made this yesterday and yum, oh yum, but something was missing. I shook the meat in seasoned flour & browned it in a little butter and a little olive oil. Dropped it in the crock pot with a chopped onion, some celery, garlic & carrots, beef stock, petite diced tomatoes, fennel and thyme and added baby bellas at the end. None of us could quite put a finger on what was missing, but something definitely was. Will be making this again and trying different variations of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loulabell26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I modified this recipe by adding more tomato and vegetables,as well as paprika and a pinch of spicy blend Northwoods Fire from Penzeys. So good with the "French Bread Rolls to Die For". Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zill yzil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
best i ever had. I loved it. I put to much barley in it but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Abney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shell Knob, Missouri, USA
Living In: Vilonia, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Loved this! I made changes out of necessity but I'm sure the recipe is perfect as written. It's a great jumping off point. I had a 1 lb hunk of leftover rare roast beef (eye of round) from yesterday's dinner so I cubed that. Then I realized I left my crock pot at a friend's so I had to make it on the stove. I finely diced and sauteed a small onion in a lil olive oil, added a tsp of garlic, then added water, bouillon, tomato sauce, beef, a bay leaf and a tiny bit of Italian seasoning (the roast I cut up was already heavily seasoned on the outside). I used about an extra 2 cups of water and lil extra bouillon. I then partially covered and let it simmer for a couple hours and reduce a bit. Then added the barley, covered and let simmer on low for about another hour. This is exactly what I wanted: rich, beefy, tomatoey and the barley has swelled and already started to thicken the broth. B/c everyone says it gets better,I'm really looking forward to trying it tomorrow and the next day, b/c it's already pretty delish now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I've made this several times already and kept meaning to leave a review. This is my husbands favorite soup and a big hit with my young boys as well. I usually double everything except the beef (I use ground beef) and that way I have tons of leftovers. The other reviewers are correct in that this does just get better with each day. I also add some carrots, celery and Italian Seasoning. It's a wonderful soup for a cold winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Beef barley soup is one of my all time favorites and this one was simple and delicious. I will definitely be making this one again. I couldn’t wait to dive into it when I came home from work, the house smelled wonderful! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Used about 1/2 c barley and subbed the tomato sause with a 14 oz can petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed some suggestions from other reviewers and added thyme and garlic. I also put in a stalk of celery and a large carrot, both diced. I thought that the broth was the perfect thickness, and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Great, easy recipe! Added red wine, celery, carrots and garlic. It was a thick and hearty soup that I made for the very first time. My finicky husband loved it. Easy, delicous comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States