Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Although this was easy to make - we did not care for it. It was too bland. Even followed some others suggestions (wine, thyme etc...) but just wasn't wild about the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was very well liked by my family. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this soup last night. The first thing I did was dredge the meat in flour and brown. I also sprinkled it with some garlic, salt, pepper seasoning. Then I added everything to the crock pot. Instead of tomato sauce I used my own canned tomatoes, some chunky carrots and celery and a handful of frozen peas. Set the crock pot on high, not low and cooked it for 5 hours. This was the best barley soup we have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this yesterday. It is one of the best beef barley soups I have ever had. I was afraid the 2 lbs of meat was too much but it was perfect. A small salad and dinner is complete! If you have never made soup from scratch this one is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Love this! was a big hit. I did add celery and carrots. Next time will add potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was a great soup and I also made some changes. I browned the meat with a small amount of flour in olive oil and added the leftover flour into the pot. Also I added 1 cup of chopped carrots and one celery stalk, chopped. I used canned tomatoes but would try the tomato sauce next time and would try different seasoning like bouquet garni. Lastly I would use 1 cup of barley because I love barley. I have been trying for years to find a beef barley soup that was like one my sister used to make and this is it. The soup was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
V.G. with delicious rich broth. I cut the marbled meat into very small dice and sealed in hot oil before deglazing pan and adding to crock pot. I also added teaspoon of vinegar to give added piquancy, and as added meat tenderizer. I used a good Bouillon base with a good beef, and lower sodium content, my choice - 'Better Than Bouillon', beef base. I cooked on high setting for one hour then simmered on low for four. I added a little thyme, and two Bay leaves that I removed towards the end of cooking, before I added the vegetables. I cooked diced vegetables such as celery and carrots, etc., ( and added to cooker for last half hour of cooking to blend flavors. Even better the following day. I freeze in single portions, so made double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was amazing. Was so simple to make. Be sure to get nice big cubes of meat from the grocery store. I cooked it 7 hours instead of 5. I think next time I am going to add mushrooms maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlevitsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was excellent. We added diced carrots and celery, as well as some worcestershire sauce and we did leave it in the slow cooker longer than indicated but it was sooo good. We'll have this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent crock pot recipe. Took about 5 mins to throw together and leave it, only to return after work/school to a fulfilling meal. A definite repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States