Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Pretty good, just like beef stew except made with barley. I made this on a day we were hit with a snow storn so it worked out well. Just beware, it makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I substituted the salt laden buillion with salt-free buillion. The flavor was alittlle bland but it saved over 4000 mg of sodium. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms and sliced baby carrots. Over all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My picky family loved this. I fried the meat before I put it in the slow cooker and then used some of the water to clean the frying pan. It gave it a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Too watery. Needed more vegetables in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
IF I COULD I WOULD GIVE IT A 10. IT WAS DELICIOUS. I DID CHANGE ONE THING THOUGH AND THAT WAS ONLY BECAUSE DIDN'T HAVE ANY TOMATO SAUCE. I USED ABOUT 4 TABLESPOONS OF TOMATO PASTE AND ADDED A BIT EXTRA WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very, very easy. Good enough for a mid-week dinner. We used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is a nice change from our usual standard soups. Nice and hearty just have to watch out for the barley sticking to the bottom of the pot. Very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was awesome! I made the recipe exactly as stated except I used low sodium beef broth in place of water and bouillon. I wasn't sure about the tomato sauce but added it and you really couldn't taste tomato, just good flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was absolutely fabulous. I tweeked it a little bit by adding celery and carrots. I also added a little more tomato sauce, Italian seasoning, black pepper and salt. We loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Loved this! I did add a few things, like potatoes, carrots and peas! Perfect for warming up a cold winters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States