Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
everyone enjoyed this including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great, thick beef barley soup. I usually add a 1/2 bag of frozen spinach and sometimes a splash of red wine and thyme. As we are trying to limit the amount of red meat we eat, I tried this using chicken (or vegetable) stock (no bouillon) and cooked chicken or turkey (use dry, white wine for this version). It's healthy, hearty and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Yum! This was surprisingly good!!! My hubs is a BIG fan of barley soup. I'm not. While I am indifferent to barley, I do not care for it enough to go out of my way to eat it on a regular basis. Because this called for a handful of basic ingredients (of which most I had available), was relatively cheap to prepare and offered a no-fuss dinner solution, I decided to give barley another shot. While I was not completely thrilled with the end result, with a little tweaking, I think this can be a HUGE success. My only criticism is that 5 hours is not NEARLY enough time to cook a cheap, tough cut of meat to "melt in your mouth" tenderness. At MINIMUM, I suggest 8 hours. As an added bonus, it's MUCH easier to remove fat from fork tender meat (I don't know about you, but I'm not a fan of fatty chunks of meat in my soup!). You can sub a leaner cut of meat, but keep in mind that you will lose some flavor when you do so (fat IS flavor). NOTES: 1) Be SURE to s&p your soup VERY well (this recipe calls for no spice whatsoever, but a GENEROUS dose of basic seasoning goes a LONG way) and 2) Garnishing with Parm is a MUST! It makes ALL the difference and is WELL worth a trip to the grocery store to pick some up. :) Crusty French bread is all you need to complete your meal. Thanks for sharing, RUSTEE! You've totally changed my opinion about a soup I would have otherwise never considered. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
As is this is not bad at all. Though, I didn't have tomato sauce, so I subbed in a can of diced Italian style tomatoes. After tasting, I just felt it needed a little more added to it to make it a perfect, complete meal. So - I added frozen mixed vegetables, a glug of red wine and some more seasonings to the crock pot. What happened was a complete meal with plenty of flavor. This was an excellent base to make my own version of beef barley soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was only okay. I know it has received a lot of positive reviews, but we found it pretty bland as written. Perhaps if you added a bunch of additional spices, but that is not what the recipe calls for. So as written, I can only give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I did not have beef broth or bouillon cubes, I use a can of brown gravy with onions, added 4 cups of water, carrots and celery and a little more barley and alot of seasoning. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Only used 4 cups of water, large tin of diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I added four chopped carrots and two sticks of celery, 2 bay leaves, garlic and Italian seasoning. It needed to cook longer than 5 hours to get texture right, closer to 8. Very nice. I think a bit of tomato paste would have been nice, but I forgot. Also might have been nice to add some peas at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I didn't really enjoy this recipe. I am not sure if it had too much onions but the taste wasn't that good to me husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Very tasty, very easy, very thick. I used boxed beef broth instead of bouillon. Would definitely make again--both my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States