Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Meat is tough. Way too much liquid. And just bland. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
No flavor what so ever!! Followed the original recipe as given. It was awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was an extremely bland and boring soup, I used beef stock, instead of water and bullion . Added cooked barley at end....used carrots, celery, parsnip, onions and garlic. Also added can of chopped tomatoes with basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Surprisingly good. Husband really liked it. Recipe needs a little bit of "tweaking", though. I added quite a bit of fresh ground pepper and sea salt, as well as a tsp. or two of dried thyme and some sliced carrots. What a difference! You cannot beat the ease of making this dish and it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very scrumptious. Made in the afternoon and ate the next day so it thickened nicely. Added bay leaf and garlic salt and herbs de Provence to pot with everything else. Will def make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori
Living In: Round Top, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very tasty,and EASY! As others have said, great base recipe.I made it the first time as written, then on the second go round, put in celery, carrots, Italian spice, garlic, left everything else the same. It was super good, and cooked perfectly in five hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
added some veggies & other spices,, bella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Need about 8 cups of water or 4 cups beef broth and 4 cups water, and at least 3 carrots chopped to 1/4 inch dice. Also a couple teaspoons of worcestershire sauce is amenable! Also would add a cup of celery, chopped, or a 1/2 teaspoon celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama sher

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yes I tried this but what is Italian about it ? Its beef barley soup and that's it !! Its just not Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry V

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Looks good, but I've been making beef barley soup for years an always added sliced carrots and cubed potatoes for a more wholesome soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States