Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Need about 8 cups of water or 4 cups beef broth and 4 cups water, and at least 3 carrots chopped to 1/4 inch dice. Also a couple teaspoons of worcestershire sauce is amenable! Also would add a cup of celery, chopped, or a 1/2 teaspoon celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama sher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yes I tried this but what is Italian about it ? Its beef barley soup and that's it !! Its just not Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry V

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Looks good, but I've been making beef barley soup for years an always added sliced carrots and cubed potatoes for a more wholesome soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
looks good but I add a lot more veggies and herbs to mine. like celery, carrots, mushrooms, garlic,and spinach if I have it. also add a touch of red wine if it's around. herbs include bay leaf, Italian seasoning,and parsley all fresh if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made this recipe but used homemade chicken broth instead of boullion cubes and added cabbage, carrots, basil and garlic. I cooked the barley and added it during the last half hour...couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is delicious and hearty as written and very versatile in terms of what can be added to it, such as fresh mushrooms or mixed vegetables. Fast and easy too. It's a favorite of ours and one I often take to gatherings where it is always complimented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very filling and tasty, and the whole family loved it! I did add carrots, celery and a garlic clove at the beginning, plus increased the water to 7 cups with one extra bouillon cube. Perfect dinner on a rainy day, served up with warm crusty bread right out of the oven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I gave it 3 stars because it is yummy but the measurements are way off. Too much barley for us! I'll use it again as a base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe was incredibly delicious. Two recommendations: Use 2 lbs. beef stew meat as opposed to beef chuck that you have to cube yourself. It is incredibly difficult to cut raw meat, especially when it is a thick cut. If there is fat swirled in the meat itself, this makes it even more difficult. I simply used beef stew meat that was already pre-cut in the package, and this didn't take away from the wonderful flavor of the soup at all. Brown the meat before putting it in the Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe is the bomb, i change it a little by doubling the tomato sauce, doing this gives it a nice rich color and taste but does not change flavor. I also added a diced garlic and twice as much barley. I cooked it on a pressure cooker and it all came down to a rich, meaty, flavorful meal that you will love. Tip: For the meat get beef neck meat i simply asked for it this way (1 lb) and be sure they make small cubes with this meat, why? well the consistency will be better by having chunks of beef and small pieces it will make a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States