Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Yummy! I made a few changes though: used 7-bone roast, beef stock instead of bouillon, 1 small can diced tomatoes and peppers, 1/2 can tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, added celery and carrots, and cooked on the stove instead of slow cooker. Turned out GREAT!! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Starburst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Great recipe ! I had the beef cut up smaller than usual by the butcher. And I substituted beef broth for bouillon. We prefer it this way. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Italian? Not really. However, it made a very hardy satisfying meal. You can definitly add some more spices, get creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was so good. I added potatoes, carrots, celery, parsley, concentrated beef stock and omitted the tomato sauce. The kids loved it. I loved it. I WILL make this again. It did thicken up quite a bit so today with the leftovers I will just add more broth. Excellent starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
With a few additions, this was great--really tasty and filling. Because other reviewers said the soup lacked some flavor, I used a whole onion and added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I also added a package of fresh spinach a few minutes before serving, along with a generous amount of freshly grated pepper. I topped each serving with parmesan cheese. The only barley I could find in my supermarket was quick-cooking barley. I wasn't sure how that would work, so I added it after the beef, onion and stock had cooked for about 2 hours. It came out great. I used a whole box (around 10 ounces?) of the quick cooking barley, and the soup was really thick and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I'm not getting why anyone would downgrade this recipe for being simple - the best recipes usually are!! Simple, basic - just plain GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I loved this recipe as a base for your own creation. I only had one pound of Angus beef so I added two medium peeled potatoes and it was great. If you really like barley like I do this recipe uses quite a bit. You could add any vegatables you have on hand and your favourite spices, this is a fun and basic recipe to play with. I was short on time so cooked on low for 3 hours then high for the last hour and it was perfect. So for a recipe with so few ingredients with such versitility I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I dredged the meat in flour and browned it in evoo (extra virgin olive oil) before putting it in the crockpot. This makes stew instead of soup! You can also add veggies into the crockpot to make it more of a complete meal. Use a nice fresh loaf of italian bread to mop up the sauce. This way you can avoid the embarassment of licking the bowl! Excellent dish; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Very tasty as is - I don't understand the underseasoned hulabaloo. That being said this could be more substantial if you up the vegetable ante.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
i made this for my husband who has alzheimers and will eat little. he loved it and so did i .i made it exact to the recipe . i will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States