Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I loved this recipe as a base for your own creation. I only had one pound of Angus beef so I added two medium peeled potatoes and it was great. If you really like barley like I do this recipe uses quite a bit. You could add any vegatables you have on hand and your favourite spices, this is a fun and basic recipe to play with. I was short on time so cooked on low for 3 hours then high for the last hour and it was perfect. So for a recipe with so few ingredients with such versitility I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I dredged the meat in flour and browned it in evoo (extra virgin olive oil) before putting it in the crockpot. This makes stew instead of soup! You can also add veggies into the crockpot to make it more of a complete meal. Use a nice fresh loaf of italian bread to mop up the sauce. This way you can avoid the embarassment of licking the bowl! Excellent dish; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Very tasty as is - I don't understand the underseasoned hulabaloo. That being said this could be more substantial if you up the vegetable ante.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
i made this for my husband who has alzheimers and will eat little. he loved it and so did i .i made it exact to the recipe . i will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I was looking for a good beef and barley recipe and this just didn't suit me. The barley soaked up all the flavor from the tomatoes, I don't care for tomatoes but put them in anyway. It really didn't have any other flavor to me at all, the barley didn't soak up the beef flavor. Going to omit the tomatoes next time and add in some spices instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akakizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumehra
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made it with lamb and it turned out really well. I also used some of the others' suggestions and added a clove of chopped fresh garlic, a couple of bay leaves, and a cup of sliced mushrooms about 1 hour before it was done. Even with these additions, it was a bit bland. I eventually had to eat it with hot sauce to really bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumehra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is a really good soup. I don't change a thing. My grandson's favorite soup and I have to make it for him on his birthday. I double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I am not really a cook but this recipe is very easy. I added some veggies and made garlic bread with it. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This soup is definately easy and it tastes good...BUT if I were to make this again, I would add more spices like garlic, bay leaf, etc...needed a little spicing up and I will also next time add sliced celery and or carrots....I think I'm going to continue my search for Beef Barley Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This tasted pretty good, but it wasn't very Italian. I added a teaspoon of Italian seasoning to give it a kick which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States