Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added carrots and celery. Super easy and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very good and the meat is very tender if you let it cook the full 5 hours. But the photo shows carrots and celery, while the recipe does not. I added both, along with some snow peas, and it was a very good and warm stew-like soup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Good basic recipe. Easy and tasty, though I suspect it would be quite bland as-is. I added vegetables and herbs to taste. It did get really thick - next time I will use the suggestion of cooking and rinsing the barley, or at least add more broth. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My wife enjoyed it & she dosen't like barley. I added carrots, celery, peas,chili powder, onion soup mix, pepper flakes & italian seasoning. Next time she wants me to make it with rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
You know, I liked it. This was my first time making beef barely soup and while I didn't follow the recipe to a T, I did use it as a "base" recipe. I used ground beef instead of chuck roast because I had some that needed to be used up, tomato sauce, added 3 carrots, 3 celery stalks, some seasoning salt, garlic powder, pepper, and italian seasonings, I did everything in the crock pot, browned the ground beef in a skillet with some chopped onion and then added that to the crock pot, I didn't have any beef broth so I used the 5 cups water and beef buillon next time I"m going to do broth. I also added a splash of white wine. However, it turned out great! With the added seasonings and such, it really makes a nice hearty soup. :) I can't wait for the leftovers. I ate mine with crusty bread and a small salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made as the recipe is, it is awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Very tasty. A little too thick to be called soup, so next time I will do as another person suggested. Cook the barley separately and add when soup is almost done. Otherwise it was very good and easy to make. I also added carrots as they are my favorite veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Meat is tough. Way too much liquid. And just bland. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
No flavor what so ever!! Followed the original recipe as given. It was awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was an extremely bland and boring soup, I used beef stock, instead of water and bullion . Added cooked barley at end....used carrots, celery, parsnip, onions and garlic. Also added can of chopped tomatoes with basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States