Mom's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made it a few times and it seems to get better! Only thing I do differently is I use real Irish butter (Kerry Gold) and I broil the soda bread on low for about 2 mins to give it a nice crispy touch to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Fitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe was easy to put together and the bread was delicious!!!!!! I did leave out the raisins though. Thank you for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The raisins make it very sweet. It's like a giant biscuit. Perfect with corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I left out the golden raisins but otherwise made no modifications. Excellent, I really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
2 THUMBS UP ON THIS RECIPE! It's going to be Marvelous with my Corn Beef and cabbage cooked unauthenically in a CROCK POT for dinner tonight! THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO POST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Fidik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It is so easy to prepare with basic ingredients. I seen earlier posts of it not cooking through, so I halved the dough in two and made 2 loaves. I didn't have buttermilk but I made my own with 1 cup milk + 1 tbsp vinegar (or you can do lemon) and let it "curd" a bit (5-10 mins) before adding to recipe. I didn't use raisins (personal choice) although it would've added the right amount of sweetness. I wanted it plain to serve alongside beef stew. Your hands are your best tools. The dough seemed so crumbly but it turned out perfect. Serve leftovers the next day with butter + honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Seemed crumbly, but tasted better than most I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I made this recipe twice this weekend and it was a big hit! A lot of people at the party commented that they usually don't like irish soda bread and that this changed their mind! I have never made it with carroway seeds, so this recipe was perfect. Even the breakdown and directions were easy to follow for a beginner baker such as myself. Thank you! ETA I won an Irish soda bread contest with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
i have used this recipe for the past 2 years and it has become a family favorite... The only thing i do differently is sprinkle powdered sugar on top... Easy, Delicious and My husband LOVES it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States