Mom's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eileen Tavenner
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I have made this recipe several times now and it comes out exactly the way I want Irish Soda Bread to taste....this makes me so happy because I had lost a family favorite recipe for Soda Bread and this recipe is just the same as the one I lost. Thank you for posting! I usually do have to add a bit of buttermilk to a make the dough come together, but the finished product is always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Tavenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Very good! Not too sweet, even with the raisins. A very easy recipe to follow as we'll.I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I used a cast iron skillet and left out the raisins but will try them next time. The middle was gooey but that was my fault. What a simple and delicious bread, even our picky seven year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Excellent recipe - followed directions, i used 9" stoneware pie plate, cut the baking time to 40-45 minutes, a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne Harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
i have used this recipe for the past 2 years and it has become a family favorite... The only thing i do differently is sprinkle powdered sugar on top... Easy, Delicious and My husband LOVES it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Sorry, didn't care for it. Having two Irish parents, I grew up on soda bread, but I did not care for this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I made this recipe twice this weekend and it was a big hit! A lot of people at the party commented that they usually don't like irish soda bread and that this changed their mind! I have never made it with carroway seeds, so this recipe was perfect. Even the breakdown and directions were easy to follow for a beginner baker such as myself. Thank you! ETA I won an Irish soda bread contest with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made it a few times and it seems to get better! Only thing I do differently is I use real Irish butter (Kerry Gold) and I broil the soda bread on low for about 2 mins to give it a nice crispy touch to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Fitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Seemed crumbly, but tasted better than most I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was good. Very dense. I used currants instead of raisins, and I definitely had to add buttermilk to make a cohesive dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States