Mom's Hot Dog Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
My Hubby is hard to please. But he loved these! :) I liked them, and my daughter loves anything with hotdogs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
How can you not love hot dogs topped with potatoes and cheese? My mom used to add some minced onion to the potatoes but I prefer to add chives. The oniony flavor goes really well. I agree with a previous person that said you don't have to pre-boil the hot dogs. Great busy weeknight meal, just add a green veg or salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My mom used to make this for us all the time. She used instant mashed potatoes instead, and we make them with sausage instead of hot dogs. So good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
What a simple yet excellent meal! I used Costco Polish Beef Hot Dogs and split them down the middle and cooked them at 375 while the potatoes were boiling. I used cheddar cheese instead of American In the taters. While stuffing the "boats" I cranked the heat up to broil, then popped them in for 5 minutes and served with corn!! Such a family hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These are good. I make them with instant mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pea Ridge, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These are SO good, someone made them and brought them to work and I had 3 of them! So simple, yet so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
these are really good I also make them with bologna or whatever lunch meat you like kids really love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I've made these for years, however, what I do is: Use thick BBQ style all-beef hotdogs, uncooked, then place cheese strips inside the slit, top with mashed potatoes & press it in/on firmly. Finally, I take a lean bacon strip (I trim off any outer fat), wrap it around spiral fashion securing it at each end with toothpicks. Then bake them on a rack until bacon is crispy and serve with a green salad. The whole family says "Yummm-O". Gave this 4 stars for the concept as it wouldn't let me post my comment without a rating; adding the bacon would get it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Quick and easy, kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love hot dogs, and plan on trying this soon.. but it can't become a vegetarian meal if it contains meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Chef John's Hot Dog Sausages

Ready for a hotdog-inspired sausage hybrid? This recipe is for you!

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States