Mom's Hot Dog Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Quick and easy, kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
these are really good I also make them with bologna or whatever lunch meat you like kids really love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My mom used to make this for us all the time. She used instant mashed potatoes instead, and we make them with sausage instead of hot dogs. So good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I've made these for years, however, what I do is: Use thick BBQ style all-beef hotdogs, uncooked, then place cheese strips inside the slit, top with mashed potatoes & press it in/on firmly. Finally, I take a lean bacon strip (I trim off any outer fat), wrap it around spiral fashion securing it at each end with toothpicks. Then bake them on a rack until bacon is crispy and serve with a green salad. The whole family says "Yummm-O". Gave this 4 stars for the concept as it wouldn't let me post my comment without a rating; adding the bacon would get it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
How can you not love hot dogs topped with potatoes and cheese? My mom used to add some minced onion to the potatoes but I prefer to add chives. The oniony flavor goes really well. I agree with a previous person that said you don't have to pre-boil the hot dogs. Great busy weeknight meal, just add a green veg or salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is an old favorite of my husbands about which, I'd never heard. I cheated, and strongly recommend you do as well, to make it so much simpler and faster, Idahoan brand instant mashed potatoes in the four cheese blend. They really are delicious. Anyway, I was surprised it was so yummy. My husband loved it and he has a very, very limited palette. I could work all day on mussels in white wine or chicken cordon bleu and to THIS he FINALLY says those magic words: "These are really good, please make them again." :) Thanks, Momto3boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is surprisingly good!! Used leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Pretty good. Different way to cook hot dogs. An easy quick meal. Will make again but will try instant potatoes for a quick week night meal. Update - tried with instant and worked great. My 15 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
My Hubby is hard to please. But he loved these! :) I liked them, and my daughter loves anything with hotdogs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love hot dogs, and plan on trying this soon.. but it can't become a vegetarian meal if it contains meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States