Mom's Green Bean Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great Recipe!! My mom actually makes this same dish every Thanksgiving except that she puts sliced almonds on top instead of breadcrumbs. I prefer the almonds but the breadcrumbs are good as well. If you do use almonds, make sure to cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe is sooooo good. My recipe calls for 2 cans of french style green beans and one can of mexicorn instead of regular corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was absolutely wonderful! My whole family ate this more than they ate my turkey. I am not sure if I am upset or not, but kudos to whomever thought this one up! Easy and wonderful.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Delicious! I amde this for Christmas and it was a great change from your average green bean casserole. It was a hit for sure! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yummy, and easy and everyone loved it! I used the almonds and covered the dish to heat as suggested. I think next time I will toast the almonds first to bring up their flavor and then heat covered to prevent them from burning. This was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I wanted a different green bean casserole for Christmas and this was it! What a hit! Everyone loved it! I made a few changes as I used condensed Cream of Mushroom and Roasted Garlic soup plus I used the Southwest whole kernel corn in the can. The taste was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I did not like this at all, in taste or appearance. None of the three people I served it to would eat it either, and one of them will eat just about anything. It got tossed out unfortunately. I think the problem was that with both the canned vegetables and then the soup, all that could be tasted was salt! And, even though I chopped the onions very small, after the recommended cooking time they were still crunchy! And, the ingredients did not seem to transform themselves into anything more than they really were, vegetables mixed in sour cream and cheese. The only thing I did different was use regular square crackers. This recipe does have quite a few high ratings. I am not sure what I did wrong or if it is mainly my taste buds when it comes to canned vegetables and sour cream? I really wanted to like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Simple to make and absolutely delicious. My family and friends raved about it. Recommend serving it with simple main dishes, such as meat or roasted chicken. It's very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I was surprised at how much my family liked this dish. Usually I avoid cooking with canned soups but needed something quick to throw together. Had everything on hand...but used 2 cans of cut green beans instead of the gr. bean and corn as written. No need to put so much butter on top, I sprinkled the cracker crumbs and just dotted the top with about 2 tablespoons of butter. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States