Mom's Green Bean Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My entire family LOVES this cassole! Using the French cut green beans makes it more interesting, due to the cut. I usually add a little more sour cream and cheese, but only use 1/2 of the crumb mixture on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
It was a HUGE hit in my home. Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Delicious and new family favorite! I did make minor adjustments. 1st- I didn't have cheedar cheese on hand i substituted mexian blend 2nd- I used 2 cans of french green beans rather than 1. 3rd- I omited onion and used cream of onion soup rather than cream of celery since this is what i had on hand. 4th- I mixed all ingred at once (minus crackers & butter) then topped with crackers & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We actually cover this dish with aluminum foil and wait until the soup mixture is at a good bubble. We then remove the foil and let the crackers brown. This helps cook the onions(we use shallots)so they are not crunchy. But then we also put the soup mix on the bottom with the veggies on top. Substitute frozen(well thawed and drained)french cut green beans. And shoepeg corn if you can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made a few minor changes;cream of mush soup and french fried onions. I loved it and thought it was better than the classic green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Kaboom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Pretty good, not bad considering it took me 5 minutes to put this together. I chose this recipe as a vegetable side dish because I was so very low on ingredients before grocery shopping day, and I was trying to use up items I had in the pantry. Only 2 changes I made was I used regular cut green beans, not the French style, and I also topped this with French fried onions, because we were out of the crackers. I baked this for 45 minutes but I did loosely cover with foil the last 20 minutes so the topping didn't get too brown. Thanks for sharing a simple yet tasty quick side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this and took it to a dinner party tonight and, honestly, it was the hit of the evening. There is not one thing I would change about it. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Awesome and soooooo easy - I can't quit eating this!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I was surprised at how much my family liked this dish. Usually I avoid cooking with canned soups but needed something quick to throw together. Had everything on hand...but used 2 cans of cut green beans instead of the gr. bean and corn as written. No need to put so much butter on top, I sprinkled the cracker crumbs and just dotted the top with about 2 tablespoons of butter. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Simple to make and absolutely delicious. My family and friends raved about it. Recommend serving it with simple main dishes, such as meat or roasted chicken. It's very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States