Mom's Great Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I thought that these were okay, I drained them before serving, and they went over well with the true test, "picky girl", she liked them, a lot. I think that I would 1/2 the soy & Worcestershire sauces next time. Don't add any salt, as they have plenty as it is. Thanks Denise ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
We like green beans, fresh, frozen & canned. I have made this several times using all three types. Each time someone asks me for the recipe. This is great for a pot luck dish. A nice twist for green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
just plain beans that taste great! couldn't have said it better myself. I substituted chicken bouillon for beef and used frozen green beans and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
These just have a nice different flavor. The first time I made them I kept thinking I wish more of the flavor went through the beans. Well, the next time I made them, I put the beans in a shallow container, poured the liquid on, sealed and let them marinate in the refrigerator for several hours. Great flavor. One thing I did differently. I don't use bouillon cubes, so used a teaspoon of beef soup base instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Awesome green beans! The soy sauce made them a little salty though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I've made this several times now and I LOVE it!!! The only change I made was using Dale's seasoning instead of Worchestershire sauce. I've also used this on purple hull peas and it turned out great!!! Thanks so much for the recipe it will be staple in my home for years to come! UPDATE: I use this recipe constantly and wanted to come back to say that if you're reading this you should definitely try it! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Very tasty - green beans are not my husband's favorite but he liked this. I used fresh green beans and they worked just fine. The only problem I had with it is it doesn't look too appetizing because the green beans pick up some of the brown coloring from the sauce....so maybe not great for that gourmet meal for guests....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Awesome recipe! I was looking for something different to do with a can of green beans and I came across this recipe. I didn't have beef buillon so I just used a cube of chicken instead. Also, the sauce was a bit salty for me, so I added about 1 tsp of brown sugar to mellow out the salty flavor a little. It was SOOOOOO GOOOOOD! What a way to spruce up a can of beans! Who woulda thunk it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I served Denise's green beans with my Christmas dinner and everyone thought they were great. No leftovers. I followed her recipe to the letter with no alterations and wouldn't attempt change her recipe at all. Nice job Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Who would of ever thought... This was Terrific! Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States