Mom's Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
OH MY is this ever good! I didn't have sourdough bread (which is my favorite) so I used thick sliced italian bread. I softened the butter and added the parmesan to it along with a bit of garlic and oregano (kinda like a garlic bread paste). I actually made two of these they were so good. The second one with tomato in between sprinkled with a bit of salt and cracked black pepper. These would be great with tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are great sandwiches, but I must say that they're not the best grilled cheese sandwiches I've ever had. Still, I made this 8 times over several days, using up almost a whole loaf of sourdough bread. I made it exactly as written; the "outside" step is a little messy, but kind of a neat idea, and works well - the outside becomes golden and slightly cheesy. I'm not sure I'd ever made a grilled cheese sandwich in a skillet before (though I think that's the usual way), but it works well. I enjoyed this recipe and highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Simple and delicious. Adds just a hint more flavor to the traditional grilled cheese. I used Kraft singles with shredded mild cheddar cheese and parmesan. I thought the finished result would be chewier, but it turned out perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oldenburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My kids loved this. I didn't have sourdough but I DID have homemade Mexican Sunset Bread which I used in exchange. My kids each ate TWO sandwiches. Anything to make for a quiet lunch earns all five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is surprisingly INCREDIBLE for how simple the ingredients. The second time we made these we ended up mixing the parm with the butter (less messy) and adding some garlic powder. My husband WOLFED these down. Perfect accompaniment to deli-style tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very simple and tastes great. My husband had to have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! This is the best grilled cheese sandwich I have ever had. I was looking for something different than a plain ol' processed cheese sandwich and this was perfect..gooey cheese...yum. I made some yummy tomato soup to go with and it was the perfect dinner for the chilly weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
OMG - Fantastic! I'll never eat plain grilled cheese again. I added a little garlic powder into the butter, used a slice of cheddar and had some shredded asiago cheese that I also added on top of the cheddar. EXCELLENT!!! Thanks for the recipe! I think it cooks best in a non-stick skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
this recipe is simple and easy. i put cooked bacon in the middle of mine which gave it a little more flavoring. next time i'm going to use mozzarella cheese instead of the american cheese. i would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nuttylicious
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I added some bacon. It was OK for a weeknights dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuttylicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States