Mom's Goulash in the Microwave Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Exactly what I had hoped it would be, thank you! My only change (ingredient wise) was that the diced tomatos had basil, oregano and garlic already mixed in which added fantastic flavor! I opted to saute the garlic, a little more celery and little less onion, browned the beef and simmered all together on the stovetop. (My microwave tends to go on the fritz so I prefer the stovetop.) Before serving I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on the top. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiKatherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I"m giving this 5 stars because I, myself, made a couple of goofs. I did an "oops" with the cayenne pepper, which doesn't bother my family much, and the tomato sauce I had were 8oz cans so I felt like it could have been better with a little more tomato sauce. Oh, since I made it on my stove, I sauteed the onions & celery. Then browned the ground beef. Then added it all together in a large skillet and let it simmer a few minutes. It was good and I will be making it again . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Great! The only thing that was not so tasty was the caraway, which I will omit in the future. The caraway overpowers the taste of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriln

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Not the fanciest meal out there but very good nonetheless. I omitted the celery, sugar, paprika, caraway seed and cayenne and added in black pepper, tomato paste, garlic powder, extra can of tomatoes and basil. I had about 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef. I cooked this on the stovetop, not in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was good. This is one of the better goulash recipies out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this on the stovetop. And this recipe was really good. The leftovers were even better. I will forsure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was so good,my boys loved it. I didn't make it in the microwave,I used my crock pot.I put everything in the crock pot except the noodles and let it simmer while I was at work,then added the noodles when I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Made this on the stovetop, and it was tasty--only omitted the caraway because my family doesn't like the taste. I know microwaves are convenient, but cooking in them diminishes the nutritionial value of your foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDK999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Quite yummy. I found it just as easy to do this stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomeroy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Tasty and easy to prepare. A real kid pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States