Mom's Good Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I'm always trying new recipes! I needed to make my brother a batch of cinnamon rolls they are his favorThese baked up beautifully! They are Delicious! For the filling I used a cup of brown sugar mixed with 3tbs of butter yummm nice and gooey! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Heather Dombroskie
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I've always made cinnamon rolls using my grandmother's recipe which consisted of a sweetened flaky pastry dough. I decided I wanted to try a yeast-risen dough, and came upon this recipe. It is WONDERFUL! Like many other posters, once the dough had risen the first time, I rolled it out in to a sheet about 1/4" thick and lightly buttered the dough. I never measure how much brown sugar & cinnamon I use, I just liberally sprinkle the dough until it looks right. then roll it up (I also sprinkled walnuts before rolling) and slice through with a sharp knife. I got 12 beautiful large rolls + 2 end pieces from this recipe. If you tuck 6 rolls tightly in to an 8x8 square pan, when they rise the second time, they rise together to a beautiful presentation. I also sprinkled a bit more brown sugar on the tops before baking. Wonderful recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Dombroskie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great dough. A little less flour needed so do add by the 1/2 cup as instructed till its a good consistency. Shortening (melted) may be substituted for oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Great recipe, pretty simple to make. I have to agree with the previous review. I buttered the dough made a log and sliced it. I got 18 rolls. The are really large. When I make this again I think I would make the log longer so that I can get more rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was my very first attempt at making home made cinnamon rolls. It was truley successful! This recipe took me back to my childhood when my mom used to baked these early in the morning. There are even great left over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
You're mama stuck her foot in this recipe.... I just made the dough before leaving to take my kids to the park. When I came back the dough looked amazing. I rolled out the dough and placed them in the oven. 20 mins later... voila! Cinnamon Perfection!! Now I actually did put marscapone cheese in the middle before I added the sugar cinnamon filling. My son actually said they tasted like something we'd buy at Panera bread. I loved this recipe. I will use it from now on. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
1. They worked great. I made 3 dozen out of this recipe. 2. I made them with 12 oz evaporated milk and 4 oz water. Made 2 dozen delicious rolls! Frosting from Cinnamon Rolls II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This makes a great cinnamon bun bread for the rolls, was very happy with the results, nice fluffy soft rolls, turned out massive! i ended up making 18 large rolls out of this, i froze 10 and baked 8. for the inside i used 1cup white sugar and 1cup brown sugar and 2tbsp cinnamon and rubbed the dough with 1/2 cup of butter so it would stick. turned out really well. ITS not a sticky bun if thats what your looking for i would take the filling from a sticky bun recipe and add it to this dough recipe and there yeah go it would make amazing sticky buns :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Halving the recipe produced 6 HUGE cinnamon rolls on which I drizzled a thin cream cheese icing while still warm (happily devoured by the crew :). Because I did make rolls (as indicated by the title), I needed to increase the cinnamon sugar amount for the filling.... but had I made "knots" as indicated in the vaguely-worded step #3, I'm sure the amount of cinn-sugar would have been ample. A great staple for Sunday morning over easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These cinnamon rolls were delicious! They took a little while to wait, but that is mostly due to waiting for the dough to rise and not actual work. The time allowed me to clean my kitchen while we waited so there is nothing wrong with that! One of the reasons that we liked it so much was because the dough wasn't as sweet as some cinnamon rolls are. I thought maybe the next time I make them I would put some kind of glaze/frosting on them, but my husband said that he really liked the way they are now, so we'll see. And these made about 18 huge rolls, and I can't even imagine how big they would be if they were only cut into twelve pieces like the recipe states. That was the only change that I made to the recipe, and thought that they were perfect. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States