Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
My new favorite. I use 1/2 c butter 1/4 oil as I am a butter snob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I had never made ginger snaps before, but wanted to try. I didn't have any molasses, but I did have sorghum syrup, so I used that, and Ultragrain flour. Everything else was straight from the recipe These. Cookies. Were. FABULOUS. The second sheet was in the oven just a minute or two less than the first, and was even better. I've printed the recipe to keep it handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbusick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I read the reviews before making these and made 2 batches, 1 where i added extra spices as a lot of people suggested and 1 following the recipe as is. I have to say I really liked them better without the added spices. this is the perfect cookie. Super easy to make, you dont have to chill dough etc. they came out perfect and pretty. I was making them for a fiesta party so i iced them with a chocolate chili buttercream. They were amazing and a hit everyone loved them. One thing though, I did not roll them in sugar, they were perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Added half again as much of each of the spices. Worked great! Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was just what I was looking for. They are the classic ginger snap cookie -- just how I remembered eating them as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very quick and easy to make. Yummy the day made but become harder next day (just the way we like them!). Doubled the cloves, cinnamon & ginger per other users; substituted approx. 1/2 c. coconut oil then topped off with canola oil to make 2/3 c. of oil; used dark brown sugar. Did NOT put the decorator sugar on the cookies. Next time will try with half whole wheat flour. This is now one of my fave cookie recipes. Love that I can make them spur of the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
People who like gingersnaps, like these ones. Missing a star because I do higher quantities of the spices. As is they are less exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made the recipe as is, and we all though it was quite yummy! The second time I reduced the oil to 2/3C to cut down on the fat, and noticed no difference in the result. I haven't played with doubling the amount of spices because here in Spain they are hard to come by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten! I followed the recipe exactly as written, baked them for 10 minutes at 375F and ended up with two dozen soft ginger snaps - just the way I like them! The dough was rather oily and hard to roll, but I didn't worry too much about the shape. It all evens out when they spread out during baking. I will definitely be making these again - perhaps later today when my husband and I finish off this first batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
love the ease of this recipe and the pretty cookies. i'm with those who doubled the spices. i also had to make a few substitutions since i'm in germany. i used half brown sugar and half white because the brown i'm used to from the US is hard to get here. i also had to substitute the molasses for 'goldsirup'. and, because i didn't have vegetable oil in the house, i used 1/4 cup olive oil (very mild) and 1/2 melted butter. turned out great and i certainly didn't have any problems with sticking to the pan (plus yummy butter flavor)! i also agree with the reviewer who said to put fewer cookies on the pan and bake more batches. MY secret to this recipe is to refrigerate the dough overnight. i did it the first time just because i didn't have time to bake several batches, but i've done it every time since because the cookies were prettier, the dough was easier to make into balls, and, the best part, the spices intensify and harmonize. i will definitely continue to experiment with these because the base recipe is so easy and consistently good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States