Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great recipe, although I definitely recommend chilling the dough before baking. It will make it so the sugar stays on the outside, and its easier to roll into balls. A lot of people recommend doubling the spices, I think that would really overpower things. Love these just as they are. With this cookie being dark it can be a tad difficult to tell when these are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These cookies were a hit with everyone in my family and at work! Plus they were incredibly easy to make. They were definitely a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Doubled the spices - FANTASTIC cookie!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzznit79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
These cookies were delicious and turned out beautifully. I followed the directions exactly and didn't have a problem with them sticking. They crinkled on top and looked perfect.. The whole house smells warm and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe! I did toy around with it the second time to see if I could tell a big difference in some healthier changes. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. They were equally great! My husband ate the second batch faster than the first! I would definitely recommend doubling the spices. I baked mine for 10 minutes and they did not spread too thin. They are not too soft, but still have a good crunch that won't break your teeth. I put sugar on a few of them, but I think they are pretty enough with out the added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I added a little more spice as reviewers recommended and these cookies turned out great. Nice and crunchy, packed with flavour! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I also doubled the spices...just the cinnamon and ginger (I like cloves but don't love it so chose not to double that) and I also chopped up 4 oz of crystalized ginger into very tiny pieces adding it to the dough and they came out perfect. Love this recipe, so easy and great for the holidays. New annual favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Successfully converted this recipe to GLUTEN FREE! Substitute for the 2 C flour: 1 C Pamela's GF baking mix (or other gf flour mixture), 1/2 C almond flour, and 1/2 C white rice flour. Add 1/2 tsp xanthan gum. I followed the comments that suggested doubling or 1 1/2ing spices. I did 1 1/2, but I don't know that it was necessary. Probably good either way. Also took advice to dip only top of cookie in sugar and to lightly grease cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I didn't have molasses so I used honey instead, and I used more cinnamon and ginger... but other than that I did everything else the same and they turned out perfect. Everyone in the house loves them. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Did not like the texture or flavour. There were too thick after they baked and I followed the recipe without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States