Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe and i usually make it about once a month at the least. Its really not to fattening, and sometimes i cut up the 97 % fat free Hebrew National hot dogs in it ( at 45 calories a piece) and its like having a very fattening, indulgent comfort meal without blowing your whole day on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner and made it home with only one serving for my leftovers (out of a double recipe!). Great recipe and I'll be using it to trounce my brother-in-laws mac n cheese this weekend for Easter! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My new favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious. Followed the recipe with the exception of the onion. I don't think onion belongs in mac and cheese. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is the BEST Mac and cheese! I disagree with the reviewer who said to leave out the onion. I think that's what makes it so good. This is my go-to recipe. It is always requested when we have family gatherings. I have varied the cheese (Swiss, provolone, etc) some times and it is so good. It is awesome as stated in the original recipe. Best ever!!!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is the best macaroni ever, although I did as suggested and left the onion out, using onion salt in place of regular salt. I also did not bake it the first time I made it, but the second time I did, as I made it early for a family dinner and reheated in the oven. I didn't have any problems with it drying out during baking, but I don't think I baked it as long as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is very similar to the one I grew up with and have been trying to replicate for many years. My husband couldn't stop making yummy noises while he ate it. Would give it 10 stars if I could. Because we love onion, I did alter the recipe slightly by adding more onion - either way, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this Mac & Cheese and it is the bestest (the words of a 10 year old). My son said it was great and I should make it this way all the time. This was moist and cheesy and just fabulous! I even shared the receipe with another lady in the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
i've made this recipe a few times now, and i absolutely love it. it's super, super easy, and doesn't take much time at all. i've made it for friends multiple times and they all rave about it. i didn't change anything about the recipe, it's great as is. :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
If you are looking for a lactose free or vegan friendly version I recommend the following changes: 1 lbs package of elbow macaroni 1 block (7.1 oz) of Daiya Cheddar, cut into strips 1 cup of Daiya Mozzarella, shredded I subtracted the onion and added breadcrumbs to the top before baking. Otherwise I followed the instructions as listed above and it was amazing. Being lactose intolerant has made it really hard to have the comfort foods I grew up with, but those little tweaks this recipe was perfect! One problem with cheese substitutes is that the artificial cheese flavor it much too strong. By using slightly less and cutting the cheddar with the mozzarella it was like eating REAL mac and cheese! This is going to be a staple food in my household from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States