Mom's Fabulous Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I just took out of the oven, looks perfect, can't wait to try it. Oh,Oh, my biscuits were soggy on the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Pinter
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
So good!! I cut up a rotisserie chicken to save time and used Pilsbury Grands Jr. biscuits which were the perfect size and perfectly cooked throughout. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Loved it. I used frozen veggies that I cooked. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
YUM! Did everything in a round dutch oven and put it straight into the oven for easy clean up! I added potatoes which soaked up a lot of the liquid so I would add a little more broth next time. I also halved the biscuits horizontally and used pieces to fill in the holes on top. They were perfectly done after 25 minutes -- I don't think whole biscuits would have been done in that time. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Husband & I loved it! Will definitely make this over & over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashluv1
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I didn't change anything. But would add another cup of chicken broth and maybe another 1/4 cup of half and half, for more liquid. I like my chicken pies a little soupy and that would be perfect. It was great! So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashluv1
Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Easy and delicious! I didn't think the bread would cook all the way through but it did. The whole thing turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bhaskin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this this weekend and it was really good. With the ingredients listed by # of items insead of cup measures, it's hard to be precise with measurements. I think my "3 celery ribs" must have been larger than the average, because mine was very celery heavy. Other than that, the filling was very creamy, homey, and tasty. I did add a few shakes of poultry seasoning when I tasted it before adding the biscuits to give it a little oommph. Also, I made a quick homemade stock with the rotisserie chicken parts after I picked the chicken for the meat and used that in place of chicken broth. Oh, and I skipped the egg wash (lazy). My biggest issue with this recipe should have been obvious before I started. I made the full recipe for my 4 person family and we had about 1/2 the dish left over. The biscuits would have disintegrated if I put it away all together. I had to remove the biscuits, scrape off the sauce, throw them in the cooling oven upside-down for a bit to dry up, and store them separately so the leftovers would be edible. How dumb am I? Next time I will either make a half batch for my light eating family OR just make the biscuits separately and pour the filling over "a la king" style. Oh, and I like some potatoes in my pot pie, so I'll probably add just a couple small cooked potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahC
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family really liked this recipe. I did omit any extra salt as there was enough even with low sodium stock or broth. I did take the advice of another review and made it in my cast iron skillet and it turned out great. I did half the biscuits to make it thinner. Next time I will make scratch biscuits as I like the taste of them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Huge hit every time I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States