Mom's Fabulous Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My husband is currently eating his fourth bowl of this stuff, no lie. I actually made the whole deal in my cast iron skillet--sauteed, simmered, added biscuits and stuck it in the oven. Turned out perfectly and made a neat presentation, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Thank you for this recipe, Pam! I prepared it "exactly" as the recipe stated - the eight peoole I served it to, ranging from 4 years old to 80+ years, loved it. They thought it was better than similar dishes they've had at those "country" restauants. I've done reviews on very few recipes even though I have been visiting this site for years - and this one merits much praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Thank you for this recipe, we all liked very much and I will make it again. I did adjust the recipe slightly, I did not have any parsley and used some basil instead also I added 2 cloves of garlic chopped and sauteed with the vegetables. (it is difficult to make a dish in our house without garlic ;) I also used Bisquick drop biscuits for the crust. It is great to find a new way to use the leftover rotisserie chicken, and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CirellaFamily

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I've used this site for years and never commented, but had to say but this was the best and the easiest of all the versions I've tried! I always add broccoli florets, and sliced almonds as well as a tablespoon of sherry to whatever version I use and it really enhances it. Sometimes I use a puff pastry to top. I copied those ideas from a restaurant whose pot pie was wonderful. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Loved this recipe! I used rotisserie chicken, frozen carrots, chicken stock instead of broth and doubled the stock/flour/half and half mixture. For the crust I used Pillsbury pie crust. Sooooo good!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kayenta, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was a great comfort food. I used refrigerated biscuit dough and halved them horizontally to be sure they baked through. I used frozen mixed vegetables, cooked them just a little bit before adding to chicken mixture. Used quite a bit more chicken than called for, as we like lots of meat in our casseroles/meat pies. Turned out delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good! It took a while to cook the biscuits. Next time I will either flip the biscuits over halfway through, or cook a little before I put on top. But it was a great meal. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is the best chicken pot pie I ever ate. My husband said fix it at least twice a week. It's easy and gooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My husband and kids really liked this! I poached individually frozen chicken breast in the broth to cook it and used the liquid to make up the sauce as directed. Didn't have thyme but used poultry seasoning. A definite make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was very good! The basic recipe is excellent, but I made a few tweaks: I crumbled and saute'd two sweet Italian sausages and mixed with the chicken. I peeled and cubed 1/2" pieces, two medium red potatoes. Par-cooked them in lightly salted water so they were almost tender. Added them to the vegetables just before adding the flour, which I increased to 1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons. I had no broth so I used chicken base and added it to 3 cups water- according to pkg. instructions. I had no 1/2 and 1/2, so I used a whole can of evaporated milk. This mixture filled a 9x13" Corning-ware baking dish and I still had room for the biscuits. I made my own drop biscuits: Mix together: 2 cups flour 2 tsp. baking powder 1/4 tsp baking soda 1 tsp salt Cut in: 1/4 shortening Stir in: 1 cup buttermilk Drop over chicken mixture as stated and then bake at 400 for the 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States