Mom's Fabulous Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I had to make a couple of minor changes to use what I had, but followed the recipe closely. I used a 12 oz can of Grands jr biscuits instead of the 16 oz can, and dried parsley instead of fresh ( although I'm sure fresh would have been better). I kept everything else the same with excellent results. My husband LOVED it and the kids liked it fine. The only thing I would do differently is cut the biscuits in quarters before adding...some of the ones in the middle were still on the doughy side underneath even though they were nicely browned on top. This took awhile to put together but was easy and much better than premade pot pies. Great comfort food on a chilly day! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Easy recipe but lacked flavor. I added garlic and x tra thyme still was kind of bland. my biscuits did not cook on the bottom either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Thank you Pam for this Recipe. My husband said this was comfort food at it's best and it was real easy, too. I will be making this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We have made this twice within two weeks. My family and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Frazier Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this last night and it turned out great. Instead of fresh vegetables and chopped fresh parsley, I just bought a can of mixed vegetables and parsley seasoning (from our spice rack) and used those. It sped the process up a lot and still taste great. I used a 2 quart baking dish as recommended, however mine was too large and it actually took 2 cans of biscuits to cover the top completely. Also, because of the size of the dish, the pot pie was a little too thin underneath the biscuits. If you use a 2 quart dish, I'd recommend one smaller with higher sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janmarie1964
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very delicious! I made this recipe as written except using dried parsley because I did not have any fresh. I did follow another reviewers suggestion and sliced my biscuits in half so that they were not so thick and they cooked beautifully. This is a keeper that I will definitely be making again. I used leftover rotisserie chicken this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I loved this! I used dried parsley flakes only because I forgot to buy fresh at the store. Rubbed 3 chicken breast with EVOO, added sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Perfect amount of chicken. Followed another suggestion and cooked entire thing in my iron skillet. It's good reheated except biscuits get a bit soggy and tough in microwave. With that in mind, it does make a huge amount for one person and with grocery prices so high, I refuse to waste anything. I'm going to try freezing some of the filling, thawing, heating and topping with a biscuit for individual servings. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is wonderful! First time making chicken pot pie and didn't have any pie crust on hand so searched for a biscuit top version. So glad I picked this one! It was DELICIOUS! I boiled a package of chicken tenderloins while I sauteed the carrots, celery, and onion, and then just did a rough chop on the chicken. Didn't change anything except I didn't use parsley because I didn't have any, and I used 2% milk in place of half & half (because that's all I had), so I ended up adding a little extra flour to thicken it up, didn't seem to make a difference or hurt anything at all! The thyme is what makes it so good. Turned out awesome, and the whole family loved it, even the man who hates carrots, celery AND onions!!!!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Muller
Living In: Sneads Ferry, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Very easy to prepare and it was great! I followed the receipe but used mixed veggies that my family likes instead of just what was listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was awesome. Made as is, with 2 exceptions due to what I had on hand. Used corn instead of peas and used regular milk instead of half and half. It was perfect. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States