Mom's Fabulous Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Easy and delicious! I didn't think the bread would cook all the way through but it did. The whole thing turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bhaskin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this this weekend and it was really good. With the ingredients listed by # of items insead of cup measures, it's hard to be precise with measurements. I think my "3 celery ribs" must have been larger than the average, because mine was very celery heavy. Other than that, the filling was very creamy, homey, and tasty. I did add a few shakes of poultry seasoning when I tasted it before adding the biscuits to give it a little oommph. Also, I made a quick homemade stock with the rotisserie chicken parts after I picked the chicken for the meat and used that in place of chicken broth. Oh, and I skipped the egg wash (lazy). My biggest issue with this recipe should have been obvious before I started. I made the full recipe for my 4 person family and we had about 1/2 the dish left over. The biscuits would have disintegrated if I put it away all together. I had to remove the biscuits, scrape off the sauce, throw them in the cooling oven upside-down for a bit to dry up, and store them separately so the leftovers would be edible. How dumb am I? Next time I will either make a half batch for my light eating family OR just make the biscuits separately and pour the filling over "a la king" style. Oh, and I like some potatoes in my pot pie, so I'll probably add just a couple small cooked potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahC
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family really liked this recipe. I did omit any extra salt as there was enough even with low sodium stock or broth. I did take the advice of another review and made it in my cast iron skillet and it turned out great. I did half the biscuits to make it thinner. Next time I will make scratch biscuits as I like the taste of them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Huge hit every time I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Just got done making mine, I took the super easy route and used a rotisserie chicken and shredded it as I was sautéing my veg. I stirred together the chicken frozen peas and some frozen corn from our garden which is SUPER good then added the seasonings then the cooked veg and then stirred in Turkey gravy from a jar, spread it in a casserole dish topped with Cheddar Pepperidge Farm biscuits ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Definitely use the smaller biscuits if available or the dough will not cook thoroughly on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My family loves this recipe! It is easy, yet delicious! I prepared it the first time according to the recipe. The next time I used a bag of the frozen mixed veggies and it was just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Delicious! I followed the directions to a "t." The only suggestion by my husband was to double the chicken filling as, in his opinion, the ratio between biscuit and filling was a little heavy on the biscuit. I used a rotisserie chicken and just pulled the meat off and tore it into chunks. The method for adding the flour to the vegetables first and then the broth and half/half was new to me. It made a perfect lump-free gravy. I'll make this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
1/14 i had alot of leftover chicken and turkey so i only used half the gravy this recipe made. i also used a bag of frozen mixed vegies. I baked the biscuits for about 8 min until the bottoms were firm then put them on top of the casserole and let them cook the rest of the way. it was pretty good, a good way to use up the extra meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
pre-bake the biscuits and then set them on top to continue baking. They didn't quite bake through all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States