Mom's Excellent Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did love cookies; however, I used canola oil instead of shortening, and used pecans instead of walnuts. I didn't measure anything perfectly, except the flour, & it came out fine....the pecans with the butter was a delicious combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
:( very dissapointed. The taste was ok but way too greasy. so sad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Don't waste your time trying to modify this recipe. There are much better ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I don't enjoy these cookies. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Like the other reviewers before me indicated (but I didn't read until after making the cookies) there is too much butter and not enough flour. What you end up with is a melted mess on the cookie sheet. I ended up freezing remaining dough to add to vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My husband loves chocolate chip cookies, and this recipe has potential if you cut out the butter flavored shortening, used 1 1/2 cups of flour, add 1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar and bake these at 350 for 10 minutes vs. 375 - you'll have a much better experience.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I wish I had read other reviews first. You must add more flour to this recipe. I knew when I was mixing it something wasn't right. I added flour to after the first batch and it helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I've been making choc chip cookies for many years. My recipe is almost exactly like this one but I only use 1/2 cup shortening in mine. Just omit the butter and then they will be perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The recipe needs more flour and because I love chocolate I added 1/2 a cup more chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These cookies were all right. They came out way to greasy. You could see the butter on the sulferized paper. And I agree with the other people: there wasn't enough flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States