Mom's Easy Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mamooshka
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious!! I didn't have any canned peas so I used three 14 oz bags of frozen peas; thawed. I added 1/2 of a purple onion; chopped. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Had the craze for pea salad...but...did not know where to begin. Tried your recipe with great results. A big thank you for you and your mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Yummy. Added red onion because you can't have pea salad without red onion! I would not make this with canned peas... I think thawed frozen peas work best. Also used a bag of shredded cheddar cheese which worked out well. The Miracle Whip (lite) makes this dish! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it came out delicious! I may try adding the diced red onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Not a fan of canned peas. Next time will try with frozen and add some onion. Leftovers were great served for lunch on crackers or toast points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brunosmom21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I never even heard of pea salad till I moved to Indiana, so I have bought it a few times in stores and tried it in buffets here. I love it, so decided to make it and where else to go but allreciptes right? This one is a bit different than what I have gotten here in Indian but I love it. I took some advice and changed it a bit, used frozen peas ( 6 cups) and added half mayo and half miracle whip. Its delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
The photo has red onions but not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Loved this easy 5 star recipe! One tweak, I added a small amount of chopped onion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving. My sister usually does it, but didn't send me her recipe, as requested. We enjoyed it, even my son thought it looked good and had it on his plate, till he learned that it had mayo products. My sister cooks her peas in milk before she mixes the other stuff in. Drains them of course, and my mom said she does the same, except for she drains them again after letting it sit for a few hours, or overnight. I do like my sisters and my moms better, but really enjoyed this one too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This recipe does take you back to the day. But I have always added some horseradish sauce ( Woeber's ) to my Hellmans and also hard boiled eggs. I usually cube Velveeta too instead of the sliced cheese. It needs to marinate in the frig to get good and cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States