Mom's Easy Creamed Chipped Beef on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a good start for a good breakfast gravy. The changes I made were to cook the Carl Budding beef in a couple tablespoons of butter and then remove the beef from the skillet. Pour a quart of fat free half-and-half into the skillet and heat it up. Mix a couple tablespoons of cornstarch with water to thicken the half-and-half -- omit the flour (avoid that flour after taste to the gravy and lumps). Add a couple more tablespoons of butter to the gravy, along with cooked beef and the salt and pepper. Serve over homemade biscuits for a good old fashioned breakfast. Every mouthful brings back memories of days gone by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is just how my Dad makes it... Perfect! ! ! for cool fall mornings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Van80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The only recipe I use. My kids won't eat any other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Turned out just like my mom made. One adjustment, though. I got mine a little thicker by only using 4 cups of milk, and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Try adding1/2 lb bacon chunks and shredded cheddar cheese. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
For years I made chipped beef over toast using the Armor's chipped beef in a jar, but, lately it is about $6 a jar so stopped. Never even dawned on me to use Buddigs sliced beef. until I saw this recipe. We have now gone back to having chipped beef on toast again, my husband was really surprised when I made it yesterday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this for brunch this a.m. and Hubby & I loved it! I did tweak it a bit, however (I can't help myself): I added pinches of smoked paprika & cayenne, and a dash of Worcestershire, along with some sautéed shallots & mushrooms. We were out of bread so I served it over crispy hash browns. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
just the way Grandma made it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is my favorite creamed chip beef recipe. I do add about 6-8 slices of American cheese. It makes it creamier and takes away the flour taste that I hate when I eat this in a restaurant. My whole family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Same my mom makes. My favorite meal hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States