Mom's Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Simple and delicious! If you love the flavor of dill, you'll LOVE this potato salad! It tastes a little bit like "sour cream and onion" due to the green onion in this. I followed the recipe exactly, using the optional salt and cracked black pepper. To lighten it up I used Hellman's lite mayo and light sour cream. I really wouldn't change much with this except maybe to use a bit less dill - 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. next time. This is a definite keeper when you want a quick, great tasting potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Really simple and very tasty. I added celery which just gave it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
After making a few minor changes such as adding a little celery seed and increasing the sour cream to 1 cup and decreasing the dillweed to 1-1/2 TBSP, we found this to be a wonderful potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is very good. Reminds me of vegetable dip. A shortcut is to slice your potatoes into bite sized pieces before you boil them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Iles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My Swedish grandfather loved his dill potatoes, and this recipe was similar to what I remember. Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I first did this with the potatoes to thick and so it was good but when i made the pieces smaller it made a world of difference. This recipe taste the same as my fav from Antone's sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyblu9905

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very good and exactly what I was looking for. I needed to double the creamy dressing recipe (use regular mayo not fat free). I also used other's recommendation and added some celery salt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Palmer Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
best homemade potato saled ever. used only 1 1/2 tbsp dill and upped the sour cream to a cup. yummy. oh and i used light mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Awesome recipe- added some capers to give it a little oomph and this may be one of the best potato salad recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I appreciated using this as a guide but I did make a whack of changes as I went, mostly because of what I had on hand and wanted to include. My family and I are very pleased with the results. What I did: - Cut the dill back to 1 1/2 tbsp - Swapped the measures for mayo & sour cream to 3/4 c. & 1 c. respectively and used light versions of both - skipped the green onions and minced a whole med/large yellow onion instead (may try red next time - 3 cloves of garlic, crushed - several hands full of snap peas, chopped - 4 or 5 hard boiled eggs, sliced - several dashes of Hungarian paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States