Mom's Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Simple and delicious! If you love the flavor of dill, you'll LOVE this potato salad! It tastes a little bit like "sour cream and onion" due to the green onion in this. I followed the recipe exactly, using the optional salt and cracked black pepper. To lighten it up I used Hellman's lite mayo and light sour cream. I really wouldn't change much with this except maybe to use a bit less dill - 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. next time. This is a definite keeper when you want a quick, great tasting potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
After making a few minor changes such as adding a little celery seed and increasing the sour cream to 1 cup and decreasing the dillweed to 1-1/2 TBSP, we found this to be a wonderful potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Really simple and very tasty. I added celery which just gave it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is very good. Reminds me of vegetable dip. A shortcut is to slice your potatoes into bite sized pieces before you boil them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Iles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This was a very good and simple potato salad! I did add just a little celery seed, will make this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I liked the idea of this for its simplicity but found it pretty tasteless before I did a lot of doctoring. I added a lot more dill (I used fresh), celery salt, Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt, and some thinly sliced radishes and celery. There was also a little too much mayonnaise for my liking, so I mellowed out the tang with more sour cream. Basic recipes are nice to build upon, but they should also stand alone on their own merits without tinkering being necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
best homemade potato saled ever. used only 1 1/2 tbsp dill and upped the sour cream to a cup. yummy. oh and i used light mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I first did this with the potatoes to thick and so it was good but when i made the pieces smaller it made a world of difference. This recipe taste the same as my fav from Antone's sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyblu9905

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
i make this all the time, sometimes with hard boiled eggs. the trick is to keep adding dill until it's very noticable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Even better than what my Mom used to make. I halved the recipe as there was just myself, my Dad, and my boyfriend from England. Served with Roasted Chicken and Creamed Corn. I did the 2 tblsp of dill as we love dill in our house. Also, I served it warm as my Mom used to do. It was creamy and very dilly...just how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberlie2873

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States