Mom's Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent .....used 3/4c of low fat sour cream, 1/2c low fat mayo made with olive oil, and 1/2c fat free plain yogurt. Also used fresh dill and more than the recipe calls for. Extremely tasty and sits well in the fridge ad I made this on Friday for Easter Sunday and the flavors melded perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rubydog
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is easy and yummy! I swapped the quantities of mayonnaise and light sour cream and only used 1T dill, which is plenty (and I love dill). Then at the last minute I also chopped up some dill pickles to mix in, and garnished it will dill pickle spears. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rubydog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Even better than what my Mom used to make. I halved the recipe as there was just myself, my Dad, and my boyfriend from England. Served with Roasted Chicken and Creamed Corn. I did the 2 tblsp of dill as we love dill in our house. Also, I served it warm as my Mom used to do. It was creamy and very dilly...just how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberlie2873

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was really good, but I think next time I will use russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Fantastic! Made it last weekend for a bbq and everyone loved it! Now I am making it for the 4th of July! Just added extra scallion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I appreciated using this as a guide but I did make a whack of changes as I went, mostly because of what I had on hand and wanted to include. My family and I are very pleased with the results. What I did: - Cut the dill back to 1 1/2 tbsp - Swapped the measures for mayo & sour cream to 3/4 c. & 1 c. respectively and used light versions of both - skipped the green onions and minced a whole med/large yellow onion instead (may try red next time - 3 cloves of garlic, crushed - several hands full of snap peas, chopped - 4 or 5 hard boiled eggs, sliced - several dashes of Hungarian paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Simple and delicious! If you love the flavor of dill, you'll LOVE this potato salad! It tastes a little bit like "sour cream and onion" due to the green onion in this. I followed the recipe exactly, using the optional salt and cracked black pepper. To lighten it up I used Hellman's lite mayo and light sour cream. I really wouldn't change much with this except maybe to use a bit less dill - 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. next time. This is a definite keeper when you want a quick, great tasting potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Awesome recipe- added some capers to give it a little oomph and this may be one of the best potato salad recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
i make this all the time, sometimes with hard boiled eggs. the trick is to keep adding dill until it's very noticable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
best homemade potato saled ever. used only 1 1/2 tbsp dill and upped the sour cream to a cup. yummy. oh and i used light mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States