Mom's Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Love this recipe absolutely wonderful. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
One of our family's favorite potato salads. I add about 1 c. whole milk to the dressing to loosen it up a little & make it easier to go all over the potatoes. Yummy yummy and so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Yum! I love this potato salad! My mom used to make it sometimes too. I used fresh dill instead of dried, and I diced up my potatoes before boiling them. Whenever I make tato salad, I always drain the potatoes and then season them generously with salt and pepper while they're still warm. I think maybe it helps to flavor them up a little. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Mmmm, mmmm! This is delicious! I must admit, I did use fresh herbs (dill & chives) because my garden is growing, and I like to use it ; ). I'll definitely make this again, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I think this is my new FAVE potato salad...YUM! I did follow the other reviewers advice (increased sour cream to 1 cup and decreased dill to 1 1/2 TB). I also added a little celery and garlic salt. My sour cream and mayo used were both light, turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Yummy, yummy if you love dill like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pachinsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I liked the idea of this for its simplicity but found it pretty tasteless before I did a lot of doctoring. I added a lot more dill (I used fresh), celery salt, Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt, and some thinly sliced radishes and celery. There was also a little too much mayonnaise for my liking, so I mellowed out the tang with more sour cream. Basic recipes are nice to build upon, but they should also stand alone on their own merits without tinkering being necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
If you don't like mustard based potato salads, this is the salad for you. I made a 10 lbs salad, and my goodness did it go fast! In fact I'm making it again this weekend, and everyone is chomping at the bit for some more. What a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I've been trying to find the recipe that is similar to the deli salad I get from Kroger. This is pretty close, but I had to make some changes. I had to use russets, as it was all I had. It was okay, but I'll defnitely use red or yukon gold potatoes next time because the waxy potatoes hold up better. I also upped the sour cream to equal the mayo. I think I'll cut back on the mayo next time because it was way to mayo-tasting. I added about 4 cloves of minced garlic, and I used a LOT more dill weed. I also drizzled a lot of olive oil in it to give it that similar taste to Kroger's. I forgot the green onions, but I have lots left, so I'm definitely going to add it to the salad. I might even try adding a little celery seed like another reviewer suggested. Hubby actually likes this version a lot more than Kroger's version! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kibbe-Riddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I was disappointed. I love all the ingredients, but mixed together seemed heavy and lacked flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States