Mom's Delicious Oyster Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I was a little leery in trying a recipe that only one person had rated so far, but I took my chance. This is also the first time I made stuffing that was not Stove Top, not to mention that I did it for an Easter party. EVERYONE like it and took some home with them. I did use just 1/2 an onion. My husband said this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Although, the flavor of this dish was lovely, it was a little drier than I would have liked. I recommend adding some chicken stock or butter to make it a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This stuffing is so good! It smells so yummy when I'm cooking it that I can hardly wait to start eating it! I made it for my in-laws for Thanksgiving and they loved it (even the ones that don't care for oysters). I've made this a couple times and I find that using a cornbread mix that is not too sweet tastes better. I also chopped up the oysters into small pieces before cooking them in. Hands down, the best tasting stuffing I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is my NEW FAVORITE stuffing- and I'm NOT a stuffing eater!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this! Since I had never tried oysters in dressing before, and I didn't know if everyone coming to dinner would appreciate them, I only used one can. Everything else combined beautifully, and my guests enjoyed this. The inclusion of mashed sweet potato was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I love oysters and oyster dressing but this dish tastes and smells overwhelmingly fishy. Also, the combination with cornbread and spicey sausage sounds interesting but does not work... I would not chose to make it again, but if I did, I would use one can oysters instead of two and not use the oyster liquid but chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
we too LOVED this recipe. wouldn't change a thing. even the brother-in-law who professed to hate oysters enjoyed it. the synergy between the oysters, the spicy sausage and the cornbread was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Everyone who loves oyster and oyster dressing will need to give this recipe a try. a wounderful combination of interesting flavors that will have your taste buds saying more,more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This dish was absolutely delicious. The sweet potatoe gives just a hint of sweetness to the dressing which is refreshing. We devoured it over thanksgiving. I think you could actually make this as a main course with some greenbeans or other vegetable. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Excellent! This recipe was the closest thing to perfect!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States