Mom's Delicious Oyster Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I was a little leery in trying a recipe that only one person had rated so far, but I took my chance. This is also the first time I made stuffing that was not Stove Top, not to mention that I did it for an Easter party. EVERYONE like it and took some home with them. I did use just 1/2 an onion. My husband said this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Although, the flavor of this dish was lovely, it was a little drier than I would have liked. I recommend adding some chicken stock or butter to make it a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This stuffing is so good! It smells so yummy when I'm cooking it that I can hardly wait to start eating it! I made it for my in-laws for Thanksgiving and they loved it (even the ones that don't care for oysters). I've made this a couple times and I find that using a cornbread mix that is not too sweet tastes better. I also chopped up the oysters into small pieces before cooking them in. Hands down, the best tasting stuffing I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is my NEW FAVORITE stuffing- and I'm NOT a stuffing eater!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I love oysters and oyster dressing but this dish tastes and smells overwhelmingly fishy. Also, the combination with cornbread and spicey sausage sounds interesting but does not work... I would not chose to make it again, but if I did, I would use one can oysters instead of two and not use the oyster liquid but chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this! Since I had never tried oysters in dressing before, and I didn't know if everyone coming to dinner would appreciate them, I only used one can. Everything else combined beautifully, and my guests enjoyed this. The inclusion of mashed sweet potato was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
we too LOVED this recipe. wouldn't change a thing. even the brother-in-law who professed to hate oysters enjoyed it. the synergy between the oysters, the spicy sausage and the cornbread was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Everyone who loves oyster and oyster dressing will need to give this recipe a try. a wounderful combination of interesting flavors that will have your taste buds saying more,more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This dish was absolutely delicious. The sweet potatoe gives just a hint of sweetness to the dressing which is refreshing. We devoured it over thanksgiving. I think you could actually make this as a main course with some greenbeans or other vegetable. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Oyster stuffing was new to me and my family. I thought it was all right. I just prefer the standard cornbread stuffing. However, my family in general was unimpressed. It is a very colorful dish if you're looking for something eye-catching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States