Mom's Date Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My mother's Date Pudding was always one my special memories of Christmas, too. She was also one that did not need recipes but was able to create something with just a few notes scattered here and there. For years, I looked at my mother's recipe written in pencil with all the incredients but it had no instructions whatsoever! So, I decided to search for something that was similar to her handwritten recipe and yours was the closest. I am grateful to you. Thank you for helping me re-create that wonderful recipe we all remembered so fondly. I now have a total written recipe 'with instructions'! I think I can hear my mother's sweet laugh and her saying she knew I'd figure it out someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
A scrumptious dessert! I did follow some reviewers' recommendations in omitting the sugar from the batter and decreasing the butter to 1 tablespoon. I also increased the amount of dates to 2 cups, which really accented the taste of dates in the pudding. You have to start with a light meal in order to enjoy this rich dessert. Thanks Peg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heba Shaker
Photo by September123
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Wonderful! I made this recipe almost exactlybut had a few changes: -Instead of butter I used Brummel Yogurt Spread (to cut back on calories...it tasted fine) -1/2 the sugar in the batter -cut the dates in half I think next time I will use more dates, mostly because I love their taste. Also I will not add sugar into the batter, because the brown sugar sauce was enough. I agree with other reviews, in that the natural sugar of the dates is enough for the batter. Adding the sugar to the batter takes away from the date flavor. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by September123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
It didn't work out for me. Maybe is only the recipe preparation. I mixed the batter and I pour it into the pan. I pour over the syrup and then I cooked on the over. But It looks very strange. I cooked it for more than 40 min at the temperature indicated on the recipe and it didn't set. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had lost my own date pudding reicipe and thought I would give this a try, but it was terribly sweet (3 cups of sugar) and the natural rich taste of the dates was lost. Out of my family, three members ate it, but three of us found it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very, very nice. My cakes normally fail dismally but this one rose a treat. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
We LOVE this. I scale it down and cook it in several ramekins. I omit the sugar from the batter, and just add tiny amount of butter (1/4 tsp maybe?) to the syrup and just nuke it rather than the stove top. I make sure there is plenty of syrup and completely cover the pudding. Serve it with custard and all you will hear is "mmmmmm". This is also nice with some candied ginger added,or finely diced apple and different nuts. I think the pecans are the nicest though. Some of the reviewers comment that it is a christmas/special event treat. We eat this a couple of nights a week in winter, it is wicked. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe, it is so much more healthier than most other sticky date puddings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
another pleaser. i serve it upright but i wonder if it would be better flipped upside down? changes: * increased dates to 1 1/3 cups (suggest even upping to 1 2/3 c) * cut dates in half * eliminated nuts * used only 4 tablespoons butter (suggest reducing further to 2 1/2 tbsp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Even folks who didn't like dates. I was told that I now have to bring this to every family get-together. They agreed it was better than even pecan pie. I did substitute pecans for the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I was thrilled to find this recipe. My mother's best friend always made this date pudding at Christmas when I was a child, but I had never been able to replicate it before. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States