Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Nicely done! Just like mom makes! Can't believe someone served w/ turkey?! It's such a wonderful summer salad that light and refreshing. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Didn't peel the cukes or use onion. Put all in a jar in the fridge and let it set. Great after a few days, better after a week. Have been just adding more of everything to the jar as we eat it (and as we pick the huge volume of cukes from the garden). Great as a side or on a sandwich. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I was looking for a cucumber recipe like my grandma used to make when I was a kid and this is it except for the celery seed and she always used little onions and sliced them in rings. Other than that, thank you so much for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Really good recipe! I'm not a fan of the vinegary taste, so I used 1/8 cup of vinegar. I also used stevia instead of sugar, and added a drained can of great northern beans and a carrot for color. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I wanted something alittle more healthier for my family. (Usually make with sour cream) This was good. I also sliced the onions very thin. The family liked it. I will be making this again. As others stated, this is the way my grandma made them when I was going up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was just the recipe I was looking for. One of my sisters-in-law makes a very similar recipe and of course never measures so I was looking for the correct proportions of sugar to vinegar. This was perfect! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
My mother used to make this when I was a kid. She would soak cucumbers about 1/16ths of an inch thick with water up to the top... I had to triple the liquid ingredients. And when you do that it will allow you to use the liquids over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefaughts
Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Invigorating taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Peter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These cucumbers brought me right back to grandma's table. She served these all summer long at both lunch and dinner. I added sliced red onion to mine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States