Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Yummy! I used about an 1/8 cup of agave nectar instead of the 1/4 cup sugar. Left out the water. Used thinly sliced red onion. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Thanks Mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I added red onion -- quite a bit of it -- and really liked having quite a bit of onion in this. The dressing was very good after it sat for awhile though I didn't like it right at first. Thanks for sharing! EDIT 1/22/15 - Made this again and did not like the amount of sugar, far too sweet. Had to add a lot more vinegar to balance it. Not sure what my taste buds were doing originally but I'll reduce the sugar in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I add tomatoes and switch the celery seed for dill weed. It is definitely one of my favorite side dishes in the summer when fresh produce is in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyanderson1584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I normally don't like cucumber salad, but this one was really good! I loved the addition of celery seed, very tasty. I did let it sit overnight, so mine was full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Just like Mom makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Simple and easy way to use up all those cucumbers in your garden. My family and I enjoyed this. Have made several times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
The best way to fix cucumbers! Instead of celery seed, I use parsley and a dash of Italian seasoning. But use your favorite seasonings... it is a hit any way you dress it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I added a half a cup of sour cream to these and left out the celery seed....definitely a winner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I decreased sugar a wee bit, increased onion a wee bit as well as the celery seed. But I'm sure the recipe would be good 'as is'. I'm making it a second time today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States