Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Simple and delicious. Didn't have celery seed so substituted dried dill weed. A great way to throw in a last minute veg with lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love this one and it gets better the 2nd and 3rd day if you get it to last that long. Make sure after you slice and lightly salt them you let them set out at least 1/2 hr on a paper towel and then pat dry. I didn't add the extra water since I knew the cucumbers would still give off water after being in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I did make a few changes to this recipe and it was a big hit with everyone who tried it. I used English cucumbers and did not salt them first. I omitted the celery seeds and used 1/8 cup rice wine vinegar and 1/8 cup of white vinegar. It was very refreshing with a similar taste to a Japanese salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
It was a little too sweet so I added more vinegar, water and celery salt ( used salt ....did not have celery seed) Next time I will use sliced onion instead of chopped onion.....it's easier to eat. All in all the closest recipe to delis and Prepared food stores that charge a lot for this salad. .......much better than any recipe I have tried previously.. I would definitely make it again.......my husband loved it and is always buying it at the prepared food stores....now he doesn't have to.....thanks so much for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I also use English cucumbers, use Splenda instead of sugar and use seasoned rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. Excellent! Marilyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I actually have this recipe from another source and use it all the time. It is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Figured I should come and give this a review since i've made it 3 or 4 times now. Each time, everyone gobbles it up and raves about it and asks for the recipe. I use a combo of armenian cucumbers and regular dark green ones, all from my garden, which is producing an abundance of cucumbers right now. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Easy to make and easy to serve and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This recipe was wonderful & refreshing. The taste reminded me of Sweet Pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States