Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Excellent! Try different types of vinegars, like cider vinegar for a fuller taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinehurst, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have always made my grandmother's recipe, very similar to this. I use garlic rather than onion and sprinkle with dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
A nice, refreshing salad. I made this by following the recipe as it's printed and it turned out great. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 b/c my kids didn't like it at all. Next time I'll try it w/ some of the other suggestions and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunky2222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I used about 1/8 cup of sugar-1/4 cup would've been too much. I also tried it with apple cider vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar. It was very refreshing, but not great. I will make this again with some more changes. P.S. You don't need to let the cucumbers stand thirty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Thought this was great! I just did thinly sliced onion, not chopped. I also didn't have an celery seed so I just threw in some fresh dill. Added a small amount of pepper and these were all eaten at the get together last night. I got asked for the recipe several times! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I did not have any distilled vinegar so I used balsamic and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very refreshing! Good side dish to go with sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had to make do with what I had - sesame seeds and rice vinegar. It turned out pretty good, I suppose. An interesting flavor sensation, to be sure. I only used one cucumber and I'm not sure how well it scales down, but one was more than enough for a side dish for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These cucumbers finally tasted very good to us. I will be making this recipe again, everyone here really liked it. Thanks to your Mom for giving it to you and thank you for letting us see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
A TWIST WE ADD: we slice the onions into rings, add bell pepper slices, and quarter tomatoes to the cucumbers. Very tasty though leftovers become a bit soggy the next day. So we make just enough for each meal we are serving it for. JUST A SIDENOTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States