Mom's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I want to say a big thank you to some of the people who have tried my recipe and given me some great tips. I know the cucumbers can 'leak' their juices and make too much liquid so I usually add them close to serving, but I didn't know about that cool trick with the salt. I will be trying that next time I make these. Also I found out when my hubby makes these he uses red wine or apple cider vinegar which gives this a great taste. I noticed one reviewer said she used sour cream because she had no mayo...my Mom used to do that also, I found out my sister tends to make it that way. Again, thanks for trying the recipe and glad you like it. Lisa Pav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Good recipe. If you salt the sliced cukes and let them chill in a colander for an hour or so, they'll lose much of their water and hold on to the dressing. Maybe there was a little too much mayo and I used fresh dill, which I think is better than dry, but otherwise thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This salad was an absolute delight!! It had the perfect blend of what I was looking for, although I did add a bit more vinegar, and used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayo, and used walla walla onions. I know we shouldn't rate when there have been substitutions, but this one really rocks!!! Thanks so much for the recipe. It only gets better with more time in the fridge!!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Oh boy! This is good! We just hit our first day over 100 degrees yesterday, so I wanted to start doing summer cool recipes. This will be a hit all summer. I was afraid of the sugar, seemed like too much, but I like to be true to a recipe for the first time, and it worked really nicely. I couldnt find my white vinegar so I used rice vinegar (then found the white) and it also worked very well. There is something about the combination of cool cucmber and the salty sweet dressing that makes you want to have more. I kept taking sneak bites before I could put it in the fridge to cool. I wouldnt do anything different, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
YUM! My cucumber were on the larger rather than medium side, so the full cup of mayo worked - if they were smaller I could see where there would be too much dressing. I also used splenda in place of the sugar and 1/2 sweet onion. Plus I sprinkled the sliced cucumbers with a little salt and let them sit then rinsed before adding the dressing. It was still good and not watery the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Very Good! I scaled back to 4 servings and only used about 2 tablespoons of sugar. After slicing cucumber I drained them for about 15 minutes. This is to keep from adding additional liquid to the dressing and making it thin and watery. Great summer salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great flavors!! Love the ease of preparation. My ONLY complaint is that mine is very watery. I made it yesterday evening and this morning it is pretty watery. I guess next time I'll try the salt trick I've read about. Otherwise, it would have been 5 stars for taste and ease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is an awesome recipe. I had been searching for a good creamy cucumber salad recipe, and I found it! Of course, I added 1 sliced onion to the mix. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This salad is terrific with a spicy dish, like hot wings, etc. We love onions, so I added 1/2 c. thinly sliced sweet red onion. The salad tastes even better if you marinade for a while. I'll make thia a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
With the exception of halving recipe I followed exactly. All three of us really liked recipe. Next time I'll add a little red onion as another reviewer suggested. Four star because of excess moisture. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States