Mom's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this quite a lot last summer and the entire family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly as given and the only thing I now do differently is to let the sliced cucumber drain for a while first to cut down on the liquid. If the cucumbers are large I will remove the seeds, which also cuts down on the juice. When time is short I often just add extra cucumber slices to improve the liquid to cucumber ratio. I also now add very thinly sliced red onion for a punch of color and a nice flavor contrast. My garden is bursting with cucumbers right now and this wonderful salad is in our fridge every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I love this recipe. Just like my Mom made. The only change I made was I used 1/4 cup sour cream and a 1/4 cup Mayo. Much more creamy. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marge Emerich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
DElish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So so so so so GOOD! My friend added more seasoning salt, not much. Just a little. Even without more of the seasoning salt, it was still good. I don't like cucumbers at all, but I liked this recipe so much I will definitely make it again and again. Slightly more watery than I had envisioned, but I just drank the juice lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Awesome!! Just like momma use to make! Thank you so much for this recipe :) 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lildeby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakin, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goodland, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I searched and searched for the cucumber salad recipe I remembered loving as a kid and this is it! I personally don't change a thing when I make it, and everyone always loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great flavor! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
So tasty! I agree with the other reviewers about too much mayo and the liquid settling out. I will try the salt trick next time I make this and I will half the ingredients for the dressing while still using the same amount of cukes but it tasted great! a lovely light, sweet side dish for the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was excellent! I did the suggestions of others, such as salted the cucumbers and let them sit in a colander for an hour to get the water out of the cucumbers. I also did the suggestion of 1/2 c. of mayonnaise and 1/2 c. of sour cream. I did add a sweet onion, chopped loosely just because that is how my mom used to make it as well. LISAPAV thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States