Mom's Creamy Tortellini Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I used a pound of ground turkey that I spiced up to fake pork sausage (rubbed sage, marjoram, brown sugar, onion powder, garlic powder, basil red pepper flake, salt/pepper) and I cut back on the flour to a quarter cup only because I didn't want a thick soup. I also used a homemade onion soup mixture as I am sensitive to MSG and most pre-packaged onion soup mix has MSG. This was good. For us, it had a little too much cream. I would use more broth next time and cut the cream back considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This soup is excellent. Mine came out extremely thick so I doubled the broth and still thought is was a little thick so I added about three more cups of broth. It was still rich and creamy. I also used milk instead of half and half. Very tasty. My family and I really enjoyed this. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This soup was amazingly delicious and deserves more than 5 stars!!! I used milk in place of the half and half, only 1/4 cup flour, dried basil instead of fresh (grocery store was out) and added a 1/2 tsp. oregano. Love this soup and will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This soup is definitely a winner.. As with other reviewers, i too used a bit more broth ( 48 oz ). I also used red cooking wine because the spirits store was closed. The only other change i made was with the half/half. I used 1 cup of half/half and a cup of 2% milk. Thanks so much for such a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We really loved this. Only added 1/2 cup of the flour but added a handful or parm at the end to the soup. Also threw in the left over stock from the box, probably 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp oregano. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is so delicious! The only change I would make is instead of making it as a soup, I'd pour it over tortellini (more like a sauce) instead of adding the tortellini to the soup. As a soup, it is very thick and quite rich. But it really was delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I'm giving it 4 stars. This recipe is such a great jump start recipe to add your own twist. I used chicken which was awesome. I didn't add the onion soup mix, instead used a onion blend I had from our local spice shop . I also added some heat. Cut the half and half by half. It's was still super thick. We will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clayton K Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrill, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Nasty! Followed it to a T and I see no way of salvaging it!!! Waste of time and money!!! Nasty Nasty Nasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Dee-lish! I, like just about everyone else, put in just a 1/4 cup of flour, and made my own little meatballs, instead of italian sausage. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States