Mom's Creamy Tortellini Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I used a pound of ground turkey that I spiced up to fake pork sausage (rubbed sage, marjoram, brown sugar, onion powder, garlic powder, basil red pepper flake, salt/pepper) and I cut back on the flour to a quarter cup only because I didn't want a thick soup. I also used a homemade onion soup mixture as I am sensitive to MSG and most pre-packaged onion soup mix has MSG. This was good. For us, it had a little too much cream. I would use more broth next time and cut the cream back considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is so delicious! The only change I would make is instead of making it as a soup, I'd pour it over tortellini (more like a sauce) instead of adding the tortellini to the soup. As a soup, it is very thick and quite rich. But it really was delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious, but I did make a few adjustments in amounts...I only used 1/2 cup flour, and probably could've used even less, and I used a whole carton (32oz.) of chicken broth. My only other change was to reduce the half & half (I used heavy cream b/c that's what I had) to 1 cup, and that was the perfect consistancy for us. This is a super flavorful, hearty soup that I will def be making again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I wish i could give this recipe 10 stars! so good! The only thing I changed was I used Asiago cheese on top because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This soup is excellent. Mine came out extremely thick so I doubled the broth and still thought is was a little thick so I added about three more cups of broth. It was still rich and creamy. I also used milk instead of half and half. Very tasty. My family and I really enjoyed this. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We really loved this. Only added 1/2 cup of the flour but added a handful or parm at the end to the soup. Also threw in the left over stock from the box, probably 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp oregano. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was really good. 3/4 cup flour would have been a lot though. I used about 1/4 cup and it was still quite thick to me. I also less liquid though, about 2.5 cups broth and 1 cup half n half, because that's what I had. It was creamy enough for me, though the 2 cups would probably have been fine too, I think. I also forgot to buy the sausage for this. I liked it a lot without it and can't decide whether I think I'd like it more or less with the sausage. I think it'd add nice flavour but I'm not overly big on meaty soups; if I were to make this with sausge, I'd definitely only use 2 or 3 links. I also only bought one package tortellini; it was plenty. The wine added really nice flavour. I was worried it might be too much because it was all I could smell while the soup was simmering, but it wasn't overpowering at all. I added quite a bit of parmesan cheese on top, it was delicious melting into the soup. All in all, I enjoyed very much, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Yum! Very good soup. It turns out like a rich tomato bisque, actually, with tortellini. I did make a few changes based on what we had on hand. I don't have or use half and half because I'm lactose intolerant; instead, I used skim milk (the only milk I can stomach) and it was fine, dried basil bc I have no fresh, and left out the sausage. Unlike others, I didn't modify the flour amount but did add a cup more chicken broth (my cans have two cups and I didn't want to deal with half a can) and left out the sausage. I think it would be good with sausage, but I don't think it's necessary. This soup has a lot going on already and is rich enough we didn't miss the meat. Very good with bread, or grilled cheese as we had it with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Dee-lish! I, like just about everyone else, put in just a 1/4 cup of flour, and made my own little meatballs, instead of italian sausage. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This soup was amazingly delicious and deserves more than 5 stars!!! I used milk in place of the half and half, only 1/4 cup flour, dried basil instead of fresh (grocery store was out) and added a 1/2 tsp. oregano. Love this soup and will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States