Mom's Cranberry Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I was worried about the cranberries but they baked just fine and their tartness combined with the sugar and apples in a delightful way. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! I added about 1/4 cup of coarsely chopped walnuts and about 1/2 tsp of orange zest. Even my picky mother liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was very good and everybody liked it. One thing I would do differently next time is to toss the apples and cranberries together with the sugar etc. I usually pile my apples really high because they shrink when cooking - I couldn't do that and put the cranberries on top because the cranberries would roll off. So my pie ended up very thin. Delicious but more the thickness of a tart. With that one change this would be 5+ stars. I do believe this will be making an appearance at the Thanksgiving dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This pie has a refreshing tartness that is usually absent from the Thanksgiving table. It's not fussy and very versatile. Last night, instead of apples, I thawed some peaches that we froze last August. I also added 1/4 tsp. of cloves. Like another reviewer, I mixed the fruit, sugar, cornstarch and spices before adding to the pie. On a scale of 1 to 5, my husband gave it a 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great recipe, however, my cranberries were super tart so I ended up picking around most of them while eating this. Don't know if this is normal for cranberries. I know they're relatively tart anyways, but mine just seemed way too sour. Some of them unbearably so. That said... I, like the other reviewers mixed the apples, sugar, cornstarch and cranberries together. Just makes more sense to do it that way. Next time I make this, I'll be changing the amount of cranberries to only a cup or maybe even just half a cup. Overall, really good and everyone that tried it liked it. A nice variation on apple pie. And for those curious…I used gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saundra Wargo
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good, I cut the sugar some because i used dried cranberries. I also used a little lemon juice. Very good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saundra Wargo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by OccasionalChef
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The cranberries were WAY too tart. They were completely inedible -- I ate around them, as another reviewer said. I don't know if adding more sugar would help? I took the advice of one of the reviewers and mixed the apples and cranberries with the sugar mixture in a bowl first, before putting it into the pie. So maybe that was where I went wrong. Maybe if you place the apples, then cranberries, then the sugar mixture on top, the cranberries get most of the sugar? I don't know. But I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe it's a prefect tartness to it. I changed it up just a little, I cut up the cranberries and mixed it all together before putting it into the pie crust, came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Suttle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States