Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I thought this gravy was SOOO good! Exactly what I was craving on chicken patties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Oh wow. This was my first attempt at cream gravy and only my third attempt at gravy. Period. It was SO good. I made only half the recipe and did as follows: Warmed 2 tbsp Hormel real bacon pieces (much healthier than actually cooking bacon). In the same cast iron skillet that I used to warm the bacon, I melted 1/4 c butter and stirred in 1/4 cup flour (slightly less than the recipe called for), dash salt, dash pepper, and a dash garlic salt (didn't have garlic powder). I let this brown into a nice roux. I didn't mind if the gravy was a little on the brown side rather than white. I definitely didn't brown the roux for a full 10 minutes, much less than that actually. I just kind of used sight and smell to know when it smelled like the flour had cooked. I turned off the heat then stirred in roughly 1.75 c skim milk about 1/2 cup at a time. I turned the heat back on and let that thicken for roughly 10 minutes at most stirring almost constantly (I did this while I let my biscuits bake). I then incorporated the bacon pieces. I don't like tooting my own horn, but it was amazing. Great recipe! Very easy and VERY yummy (albeit not so healthy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Tastes just like flour,vegtable oil and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Butter definitely makes this gravy superb, even without meat drippings. I poured it on some biscuits made from scratch and had delicious biscuits & gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Yum just what i was looking for. I used some chicken bouillon instead of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Made This Recipe This Morning, and It Was Fabulous, I Had To Make More Because My Family Of 5 Wanted Seconds! Just Added A Pinch More Salt, and Used A Half Butter/Oil Mix For A Lovely Consistency, and Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Love this make it at least once a week! so easy and so good on just about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
It tasted fine. Like I expected, which is like other sausage gravies that I've had. I used butter instead of oil and added sausage and sausage grease as other reviewers recommended. But I wouldn't say this gravy is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandyjoy38
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
this was one of the best recipes ive ever had. i made the suggested amount for 6, it was just me and my hubby but the rest was used for the next morning to make biscuits and gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandyjoy38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States