Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Needed a start and this was great! I did use a mix of sausage and bacon grease instead of oil. I also substituted sweetened condensed milk for the regular milk? I also added the fresh sage sausage that I fried and drained. My boyfriend said it was like his Grandpa used to fix and he loved it!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I just made this gravy I used a little more pepper than what was called for, but it was delicious. I've been cooking for a long long time. But some things I never really wondered if I could make it from home like this gravy, I usually buy the mix, but I was much more satisfied with these results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I thought this gravy was SOOO good! Exactly what I was craving on chicken patties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Oh wow. This was my first attempt at cream gravy and only my third attempt at gravy. Period. It was SO good. I made only half the recipe and did as follows: Warmed 2 tbsp Hormel real bacon pieces (much healthier than actually cooking bacon). In the same cast iron skillet that I used to warm the bacon, I melted 1/4 c butter and stirred in 1/4 cup flour (slightly less than the recipe called for), dash salt, dash pepper, and a dash garlic salt (didn't have garlic powder). I let this brown into a nice roux. I didn't mind if the gravy was a little on the brown side rather than white. I definitely didn't brown the roux for a full 10 minutes, much less than that actually. I just kind of used sight and smell to know when it smelled like the flour had cooked. I turned off the heat then stirred in roughly 1.75 c skim milk about 1/2 cup at a time. I turned the heat back on and let that thicken for roughly 10 minutes at most stirring almost constantly (I did this while I let my biscuits bake). I then incorporated the bacon pieces. I don't like tooting my own horn, but it was amazing. Great recipe! Very easy and VERY yummy (albeit not so healthy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Tastes just like flour,vegtable oil and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Butter definitely makes this gravy superb, even without meat drippings. I poured it on some biscuits made from scratch and had delicious biscuits & gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Yum just what i was looking for. I used some chicken bouillon instead of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Made This Recipe This Morning, and It Was Fabulous, I Had To Make More Because My Family Of 5 Wanted Seconds! Just Added A Pinch More Salt, and Used A Half Butter/Oil Mix For A Lovely Consistency, and Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Love this make it at least once a week! so easy and so good on just about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States