Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I have a very similar recipe but I use 1/4 cup less flour. Also I do not brown the roux so much. I do cook it for a few minutes to remove the flour taste. I also first cook some bacon then in the bacon grease I brown and crumble sausage then add the flour to the sausage. No additional oil is necessary. To borrow a catch phraze from a famous culinarian... the bacon grease and sausage really kick this recipe up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is a good recipe I concur with the other posts about using sausage or bacon grease, but you can also use the drippings from fried chicken. Using these drippings will increase your flavor, you could also add powdered chicken base to the gravy as it cooks. If you find that your gravely tastes floury it is because you are not cooking it long enough this is the most important part, cook on low heat and cook at least 5 min ,I usually cook it until it turns light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This sounds just like what my mother used to make when I was younger. Unfortunately she didn't have the recipe written down and I've never been able to duplicate it. I do remember her using shortening instead of oil and evaporated milk for a thicker gravy - and lots of pepper! I may now try making from scratch again instead of buying the package mixes. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
just a note gravy needs to boil after all milk is added then will not taste like flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I liked it at first, then realized it needed more pepper. It also tasted a little too much like flour still. I'm not a gravy expert, but I would like to try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
If you use 1/2 evaporated milk and 1/2 water, it tastes even more country. This is how my great-grandmother made hers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
If you ever have it with fried green tomatoes you will think you did and went to the heaven cafeteria... I have it with bacon and put a bit of bacon grease in for the flavor with the tomatoes. OK it isn't great for you, but if you have it only once in a while, my diabetic doctor says it is fine... You only live once..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Easiest way to make is in a wok. Cook your Jimmy Dean sausage and leave the drippings in the pan. Use butter and the flour with no extra salt. Add the milk after your flour is browned and then put on your Grands biscuits. Bring to a boil and then back it down some letting the water evaporate and put the sausage in the gravy while stirring constantly. Pour this sausage gravy over grands biscuits and you are in heaven....and will be full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The olive oil is healthier, but doesn't taste "right". To make this true "country" gravy, you have to use bacon grease or the drippings from fried sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is basic white sauce, except for using oil in the roux which is okay for dishes like stews, Jambalaya.etc. where they use a 'penny' colored roux. Butter is the norm for white sauce. However, making a southern style gravy I'd use the fat from bacon or sausage for that special flavor and ad some crumbled sausage or bacon with it. Now for the 'starchy' taste, that comes from not cooking the roux long enough to remove the starch flavor which takes about 8-10 minutes and a lower temp if you're wanting a blond roux, which is indicated by using milk. At least half chicken stock and milk will move the gravy away from being bland.Oil is neutral as far as flavor is concerned. Just take a little time and get the starch taste out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States